We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun movie night!”

Reel Pizza Cinerama
Ranked #29 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Collingswood, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a fun movie night!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just returned from a really fun night at Reel Pizza Cinerama. We decided to split up the family across the two theaters, since we have different taste in movies. I must say that the pizza was absolutely delicious! They offer a variety of specialty pizzas, as well as the option to create your own. Really, really good with an extensive list of topping options, including gourmet options such as fresh basil leaves and local goat cheese! My husband enjoyed their draft beers, including two local varieties. They offer pitchers of cold water in the back of each theater, along with shakers for the pizza, paper plates, and napkins. There are a couple rows of sofas at the front of each theater with tray tables available to put your food, and the rows in the rest of the theater have movie theater chairs with a long ledge/table attached to the back of the chairs in front of you. The sofas are a fun and comfy option.

Tips: Get in line early, especially if you want to see the first showing of a new/popular movie! I arrived at 4:15 (box office opens at 4:30), and there were already at least 20 people in line. We were able to get tickets without difficulty, but we would have had a better seat choice if we had been further up in line. Either way, grab a paper plate from the back of the theater, write your name on it, and save your seat(s) while you head back to the lobby to order your pizza. You can wait for your pizza back at your seat until your plastic pizza slice lights up to alert you that it's ready. They even have oven mitts to carry them back to your seat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaBWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    52
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
albie02
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fun place to take in a movie and grab a variety of movie food like gourmet pizza”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

beer, pizza, and an array of different seating for lounging and enjoying a movie and relaxing. great sound also

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank albie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“happy find”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Chilly, rainy late afternoon in Bar Harbor. Tried it because they had only movie I cared to see in area. Set up was better than expected: still movie seating, but with counter running across back of seats for plates and drinks. Funky rows of sofas up front for those that want to watch from there. Best surprise: how good the pizza is- the best I've had out - maybe ever? Enormous selection of ingredients (mine was artichoke hearts and summer squash). Hint: available by the slice, which is not apparent in on-line menu. And it seemed to be really cooked to order, not just plopped on top of a finished cheese pizza. Was less $ than anything ordered at a big multiplex.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A novel experience !”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was a really different experience to anything we could do in the UK. You pay for the movie. We saw Captain America and there are shelves in front of you. You can order pizza or salad-not the best quality in the world but it is more the experience and when the food is ready it comes up on a bingo board as a number you are given. We loved it. Great to do on a rainy day or as we did a spring day in the evening when Bar Harbor is still waking up.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pizza plus great movies”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This wonderful little twin screen cinema also happens to have great pizza, draft beer and better than decent chocolate cookies. And popcorn, of course.

Place you order and watch the bingo board in the theater for you number then go collect your pie. A variety of seats include some great funky couches probably salvaged from college dorms.

It's informal, friendly. You become part of a wonderful sense of community each night.

Just go, whoever you are, you're in for a treat!

Helpful?
1 Thank Evanapevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reel Pizza Cinerama also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Reel Pizza Cinerama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing