We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Joy

China Joy
Ranked #105 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

the lobster Cantonese dish was awesome! it was a little pricey but everything is in Bar Harbor. we also had coconut shrimp which was delicious! the curry chicken was good it would have been better with dark meat chicken. the chicken wings were tender juicy and big!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katamaran687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    50
    35
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Decent chinese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's the only chinese restaurant in downtown Bar Harbor and it is cheap, decent food and great portions. Not the best chinese food, but definitely not the worst. Worth a try!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad, a little bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

It was a decent lunch. Food was a little bland but not bad. Charged extra for tea. Cost was reasonable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chach1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bar harbor maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dumpster is more decretive! Food is worse!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The dining room is a mess if old stuff everywhere .. If the kitchen is anything like the dining room gross.. Should be inspected!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bfizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So gross we threw it away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We weren't expecting anything over the top good, but any decent-enough food would do. But oh boy we were wrong!

First off let me say, I have put up with "nasty" food from school cafeterias, etc., when I was growing up, and I can stand it if I tell myself to do so.

So we walked in and ordered some pork/rice, egg rolls, etc for 3 people. When we were handed the food (to go), the guy didn't even give us any napkins or forks. So we asked for napkins and forks, and he gave us 1 meager piece of napkin and 1 fork. He seemed impatient so we didn't bother to ask for more. But still, 1 napkin and 1 fork for 3 people!

Now, to the food. It was bland, stale, and tasted like rubber. The pieces of pork were definitely not fresh, but they were dyed in red and soaked in salt and oil to appear more appetizing. Yes, to "appear" more appetizing. In fact, when placed in the mouth, the pork tasted nothing more than rubber. The egg roll was, again, tasteless, and everything inside was clumped into one indiscernible mass of...what? I couldn't really tell. Looked like it went through the trash compactor. I guess I didn't really want to know what was in that mass.

I could not stand the food so I threw it away.

So yeah, visiting this restaurant was the low point of my visit to Acadia National Park.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovenature4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Joy also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to China Joy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing