We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Throw Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Throw Cottage
Ranked #2 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our first time to Bar Harbor and our stay could have not been better. Stone Throw Cottage was the perfect location, walking distance to downtown and all the fine Restaurants in the area. Kim and Jerry made the stay fantastic. Their hospitality and Breakfast was over the top. We spent the week traveling Maine and our 2 day stay at Stone Throw Cottage was the best by far. Rooms were Super Clean and very comfortable. Would no doubt pick this for my stay if I'm ever in Bar Harbor again. Any advice on the area Restaurants or things to do and see for sure check with Jerry. He steered us right on everything. He does know the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
185
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hughesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have a home in Southwest Harbor. I enjoyed a weekend away from home and treated myself to the beautiful welcoming inn. Fantastic gourmet breakfast and sweet treets in the afternoon. I will do so every season for myself as a treat with the oversized soak tub beautiful rooms and winding paths and porches. So serene! I also recommend to all of my friends who visit who cant fit in my home! Love it and the owners are fantastic caring people and their family are also so inviting.
Linda Gregory

Room Tip: All rooms are previewed when you arrive and I loved my corner quiet room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindagreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We reserved at the last minute to "get out of town" for some nice weather and "lobstah". We were so lucky to find Stone Throw. It was their first season (which is probably why we were lucky enough to find a room). The rooms were clean, comfortable and yet historic. Kim and Jerry treated us like family. Our breakfast was a waffle with prosciutto and real maple syrup as well as a delightful yogurt/berry/granola parfait (yum!). We stayed only one night as rooms were not available. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maine4me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a wonderful time during our 2013 Fall trip to Bar Harbor and Kim & Jerry are the most delightful hosts they were friendly, kind and extremely informative. They went above and beyond our expectations in telling us where to go, where to eat,etc. the room was cozy and comfortable, bathroom was spacious and very clean and the bed and sheets were amazing. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and so was the afternoon snack service. My husband had mentioned he liked blueberry pie and that afternoon there was a delicious blueberry pie waiting for us, yummy!!! Thank you for an unforgettable time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollydog289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We loved staying at the Stone Throw Cottage and would definitely return -- everyone was accommodating and the food was excellent. We were to arrived early and they made sure that our room was cleaned first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarboU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed in 3 different B&Bs on our September trip to Bar Harbor. Stone Throw was a favorite -has a great location, very nice amenities, couldn't ask for better hosts. Owners are natives, so they know all the great restaurants, places to see (and avoid!) and overall, just great experience. Would stay there again and plan to!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Turned up at the door and was welcomed very warmly. Got to choose the room and was made to feel right at home straight away. Breakfasts were unusual (not had mex for breakfast before) but delicious and set you up for the day. We hope

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlannap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Throw Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Throw Cottage

Property: Stone Throw Cottage
Address: 67 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Bar Harbor, the Stone Throw Cottage Inn provides a peaceful, welcoming sanctuary for you to enjoy during your stay here on Mt. Desert Island. Enjoy the classic elegance of one of our seven comfortable guest rooms. Each with a queen or king size bed, attached bath with whirlpool tub and shower, AC and a delicious, full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stone Throw Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Throw Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing