We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Throw Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Throw Cottage
Ranked #2 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently made a trip to Bar Harbor and then on to Canada. Along the way we stayed at numerous B&Bs. Stone Throw Cottage was the best of the places we stayed. We were very careful about our reservations only to book at the best we could find. Jerry and Kim were gracious hosts. The breakfasts were the best we had anywhere. Jerry made a special take away breakfast for us when we went on an early morning whale watching trip. Our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Jerry was very helpful and his travel advice was spot on. We would stay here again and would recommend it to our friends. The off street parking was helpful. We had uninterrupted internet service. The mid day snacks were great and the unlimited early morning self serve coffee was superb. Great place to say!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
185
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband an I spent 3 lovely nights in Bar Harbor at the Stone Throw Cottage. Our host and hostess, Jerry and Kim, could not have been more gracious and accommodating during our stay at their B&B. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Jerry, and we were made to feel right at home. Jerry and Kim go the extra mile to make a stay at the Stone Throw memorable. Breakfast was different and delicious each morning with additional breakfast items available to munch on immediately upon entering the dining area. Fresh baked cookies of a different sort each day are available in the afternoon. Jerry and Kim are even sensitive to a visitor's need for gluten free food too! Wow, huh! We were there during the World Cup matches, and while we were watching the match on TV, a plate of 2 different cheeses and crackers were brought in for our enjoyment. Wow again, huh! The B&B itself is pristine, comfortable, and just so eye appealing. Each of the bedrooms is decorated in a different way, but you will notice a Rose theme throughout the house. There is one room with a King size bed, and all the others are Queen size. It only takes an easy walk to get to the center of the action in Bar Harbor, and Jerry has some great ideas
for restaurants, as well as fun activities in the area. Jerry and Kim are at the center of why this B&B is so wonderful, and part of the fun of staying here is to enjoy having conversations with them. I predict The Stone Throw will jump to the number one B&B in bar Harbor soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishRoseSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were delighted to receive such excellent customer service at Stone Throw, especially as it turned out we never became customers!
When we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Jerry, the proprietor and it was only then that we realised we'd made a mistake with our booking date and should have been there for the night before!
Jerry couldn't have been more understanding or helpful - even having waited up for us to arrive the night before; trying to phone us to check we were OK and then arranging for us to overnight at a neighbouring B&B!
Our impression of Stone Throw while we sat in the lovely Reception lounge was very favourable and we were disappointed not to be staying in this welcoming and well located B&B! Many thanks Jerry, we owe you one!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We loved this lovely place to stay in the heart of Bar Harbor... just near the main street with shops and restaurants, but also quiet and secluded in a peaceful setting. Our breakfasts were elegantly served on the back terrace overlooking the beautiful garden. Even though we were in the heart of the town, we felt like we were far removed from the hustle and bustle. The rooms were cozy and elegant. The bathroom was beautiful! I've never seen such an elegant sink! Our hosts were so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Food delicious... what more could we hope for? We will definitely return, and willingly recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked beautiful, but we chose a room facing the back garden, and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chouettecolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
186 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Four of us recently enjoyed the wonderful hospitality, food and accommodations at Stone Throw Cottage. The facility has been completely restored and is excellent. Kim and Jerry are gracious hosts and provided lots of advice on restaurants, things to see and do. Our rooms were beautiful as is the whole B&B. Breakfasts were delicious and made the most of local fruits, breads etc.
The Strawberry Rhubarb and Wild Blueberry jams were excellent as was the Blueberry Pomegranate juice. A short walk took you to all the sights, shops, etc in town and Acadia National Park is only 6-7 miles away. And the room rates were comparable to the local Quality Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 days. Unfortunately we didn't get great weather hence I was so glad we booked here as was home from home. Very comfortable and elegant sitting room, Jerry baking us biscuits (cookies) and brewing us fresh coffee...yum. High speed wifi available also.
All bedrooms have their own individual character, equally comfortable. Great nights sleep, we were facing back garden.
Breakfast is worth the stay on it's own.
If you are used to 5 star luxury then you'll be happy to find in Bar Harbor also while staying here.
Can't wait to go back sometime.
Jerry is very informative on the area also. Great restaurants recommendations so you'll never have a bad meal downtown if you stick with his suggestions.

Thanks again Jerry!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently spent 2 days (not long enough!) at the Stone Throw Cottage. We very much enjoyed talking with Kim and Jerry. Our room was very nice with a bed made to sink into. I also appreciated the 2 luggage stands in our room - how nice to not have our suitcases on the floor! (it's the little things) The bathroom was HUGE and beautifully done! Breakfasts were absolutely delicious! The grounds are gorgeous - we took advantage of the beautiful backyard by eating breakfast on the back porch each morning. We also sat on the front porch and talked with another couple one evening. This is the best B & B we've been to and we look forward to visiting again and again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Throw Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Throw Cottage

Property: Stone Throw Cottage
Address: 67 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Bar Harbor, the Stone Throw Cottage Inn provides a peaceful, welcoming sanctuary for you to enjoy during your stay here on Mt. Desert Island. Enjoy the classic elegance of one of our seven comfortable guest rooms. Each with a queen or king size bed, attached bath with whirlpool tub and shower, AC and a delicious, full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stone Throw Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Throw Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing