We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort??”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was an ok campground, nothing extra special and the fact that they call themselves a "resort" baffles me. Sites were not well cared for, some mowed, some not. Ours had huge piles of hayed grass all over and a grill that was completely tipped forward and unusable. It looked as if it had been that way for years. Our cheaply built picnic table wobbled crazily and the one bench was completely sagging as if ready to break. We were going to trade, but the others were even worse! Sites are crazy close together with no trees or bushes to separate. The arcade is in a dank concrete basement with only a couple things to play, not what I would call an arcade. We were excited to use the pool to cool off after a hot day of hiking, but were shocked when we put our foot into this hot tub without bubbles! It had to have been over 100 degrees on an 80 degree day. Yuck! Bathrooms and showers were clean and roomy. My big beef is the complete lack of supervision by the owners. Radios were blasting and I do mean blasting well past the 10:00 quiet hours. Huge groups of local people were meeting each other at the campground for party central well past midnight at numerous campsites. Campsites had 5-6 cars pulled up all over the place with people drinking, screaming, yelling, and swearing all night with no one to tell them to break up the party. Rules said no clothing lines, yet they were everywhere and no one said a thing. Obviously, the locals know that rules are meaningless here so do whatever they want and invite all their friends to use the place too for free!
I find it odd that this is called a camping resort and that they charge you a resort fee. This is a mediocre campground, not a resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zicheryzachery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Wanted a camp ground on the water near both Bar Harbor and Acadia Nat. Park. We also wanted a place on the free shuttle line and this had all that. The view from our site was amazing. Running water at the site was helpful, the bathhouses were very clean, prices at the store were cheap, canoe rentals were affordable and easy. Pool was warmer than the air outside! Very nice people at the front desk which was especially helpful with recommendations in the area. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Buy a nice tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JHNutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I would not recommend this campground to anyone. Upon arriving the place smelled of raw sewage. This was a problem intermittently during the week of our stay. This indicates an overtaxed septic system. Maybe thats why the place wet and muddy in some areas all week even though there was no rain the whole time? Two of the 3 urinals in the mens room were "temporarily out of order" the entire week of our stay as was one of the mens room toilets. Also no toilet paper in the mens room sometimes. Want to cool off after a long day of hiking, biking, etc... Better get back before 5:30 PM because they close the pool at that time. When we did use the pool my son injured his ankle on the slide because it's installed at the shallow end of the pool where the water is about 2 1/2 feet deep. He should have checked first but seriously, what kind of thinking is behind putting a pool slide in the shallow end? The site we were put on was literally on the side of a hill and was only about 12' wide. The site next to it was even worse. The place really has the potential to be nice but seriously, the kids were looking forward to a pool and an arcade and both were closed unreasonably early. 5:30 in the afternoon? Come on! I've stayed at worse places. It was fairly clean as far as campgrounds go but the waterfront is NOT a plus here. It's across the water from an airport and the lights of town and every day when the tide goes out (and stays out) all you see is a bunch of mud and all that exposed sea bed, well it attracts millions upon millions of little gnats. Seriously, they are on everything thick enough to scoop up with a shovel. The pool was filled with them and there wasn't a skimmer in sight. It appears someone is just running the place into the ground. It could be nice but nothing is maintained from what I can see. If you want go to Acadia and camp. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank galaktikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our site was clean. The water was always hot. The customer service was great and the sunset view was fabulous.

There is a small, heated and well maintained pool on site.

My one small complaint would be the hours for the arcade. We always returned from our day trips right as it was closing; 6:30pm.

Also, if you're going during the summer, plan for Mosquitos. They were awful. We were first timers to bar harbor and didn't realize this was normal. Definitely bring a screened canopy for shelter.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Catep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed in tent cabin #108 for one night. The tent was moldy and smelled terrible. It was raining and the water drained from the outside deck into the tent. There was an inch of water inside on the tent deck floor. We left and did not stay a second night even though we were required to pay for it. I am amazed they would rent out such a tent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BakerVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

One of the strong reasons for selecting this campground for our family was the pool. It has good proximity to town and to the park and after a long day of hiking, biking, exploring - there is nothing more refreshing than a dip in a pool. Having made our reservations back at the first of the year, they just "recently" discovered problems with the pool (although the staff looked a little confused as to how to answer some of our questions as to how did it happen, and when it happened when we inquired). Someone in our party did receive a call a week and a half before our visit to let us know about "pool problems". In a customer-first environment, this time before the Fourth should have been used to exhaust all means to get the pool fixed, filled and ready for a full house on the holiday weekend. Instead, upon arrival at the end of June...it was still sitting dormant. We were told they were working on it and Monday July 1 we saw a pool truck arrive. I believe they began filling on Tuesday - WITH GARDEN HOSES....after we were told they would have the fire department fill it. Ok - so maybe that didn't work out. How about buying water from a POOL WATER company - just get it done!!??

The CUSTOMER is NOT #1 here...if it was - this problem would have been fixed long before the busy holiday weekend. And needless to say, we never got to use the pool...it was STILL filling on Saturday, July 6 when we left. The 20% off "courtesy" store coupon...a joke - why would we want to give you even MORE money at this point. We already have to take TWO cars to fit all of the kiddos in our group to the sister campground for pool use (through construction). Uh - yah...not going to give you any more money thank you. You should have paid us for the gas....

In general, this campground has potential - location is prime (waterfront, close to everything). It just needs people to see that the customer is important...that they pay the bills. Stop looking at us as money bags (when the "claw machine" ran low in the arcade you can bet that got filled right away with new "prizes").

Having guest campers do the clean up/maintenance around the facility seems great in theory but WHAT DO THEY CARE if the lawn is not mowed down when a new camper arrives? WHAT DO THEY CARE if they can't fix a faculty cable line? Stalls without toilet paper? Yes, that REALLY happened.

These people need a wake up call - your customers are your business and with the negative reviews I've seen...it won't take long for you to be wondering where we all went. We won't be going back here. And I can't believe you would DARE call this place resort camping (yes, there was a resort premium surcharge on our bill)...THIS is resort camping: https://www.lakegeorgervpark.com/ (clean pools, cafe, daily activities for families-bingo, shows, movies), curbside garbage pick up, bend over backwards service in ALL areas and much more).

Step it up - you can be excellent!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank blondie-nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and several others travelled with NH Animator (comments below) and wanted to add a few things On the plus side, the campground is in a good location and during the 10 days that we stayed, it was very queit and peaceful.

A few additional items that irked me and others in my group that were not covered by NH Animator, but were covered by other reviewers (we experienced many of them): 1. Snowy TV reception at a site...the staff attempted to fix it but were not able to. We were told by staff that sometimes reception is snowy after it rains. Really? 2. The grass was at least 6-8 inches deep at our site, and over a foot deep around the fire pit. The rug in front of our door would not lay flat for several days, causing a tripping hazard. 3. There is no security gate, and anyone, at any time, could just come and go as they pleased...I'm not sure anyone ever checked my car pass. I never put mine up, but instead had a pass to Acadia National Park on display, and was never questioned.

OK, regarding the pool. We chose this campground because it had a pool which was handy for the children to use while the adults cleaned, cooked, etc. I understand that things happen and the pool was closed, but is it too hard to try to make things right? I was the first to arrive in our group, and when I inquired about if they could do something to make things right, they indicated that "Management decided not to do anything". Not even an ice cream social for the kids, tickets to mini-golf, free wi-fi, or anything to acknowledge that you are not providing a full service to the customer? It was only after 2 or 3 days of probably hearing complaints from unhappy campers that they drove around the campsite handing out the useless 20% off coupons to the store. It was the lack of common courtesy, by management, that was my biggest complaint about this campground, and a big reason why we will never return.

Having experienced a better camping experience at another campground on Mount Desert Island 2 years prior, we expected a whole lot more. Paying a "resort fee" for a place not close to a resort is ironic at best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HybridCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
1.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 42 in Bar Harbor
382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
5.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,776 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
6.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort

Address: 1219 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7140
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £18 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Mount Desert Narrows Camping Hotel Bar Harbor
Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing