We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect location and amenities!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have been to Bar Harbor many times, and were very pleased to have "discovered" the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel for our recent stay. The location and free on-site parking were perfect for exploring the town on foot - close but not in the midst of the cruise-ship crowds. Room was clean and very comfortable, and complimentary breakfast was just right. Staff was very friendly at all times, and helpful with suggestions of places to go during the shut-down of Acadia Park. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: We were on top floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your expressions on our property, staff and location. It is very encouraging to receive comments such as yours. It is always our goal to please our guests and to have them return. Please do!
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    358
    57
    8
    4
See reviews for
359
583
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanzey, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The accommodations were fine and the location very convenient but the breakfast was terrible. We ate out for breakfast every day after our first experience there. This hotel would be very good if the breakfast buffet was edible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I listen to my guests and next season we are expanding to breakfast that will include eggs, omelets and meats...etc. Please return so that we have the opportunity to deserve a "very good" review.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Charming, clean rooms, friendly staff, reasonable price, located near the town center. are and helpful. everything is high quality. We have a farm in Quebec We're looking forward to staying here next time we return to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
And we look forward to your return as well. It always pleases us when we meet our guests expectations. Have a great winter.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The room was nice and large, clean, and nicely furnished. Continental breakfast was better than I expected. The staff was pleasant. I loved being right in town to enjoy the shopping, dining and activities just steps away from where we were lodging!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Great heading. Location is very important in Bar Harbor. Our breakfast will be even better next year. We very much look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Like always a great stay. This hotel is always clean, new, free breakfest, has friendly staff and is in the heart of bar harbor. Restaurants, shops and the waterfront our walking distance from the hotel.

We visit bar harbor once or twice a year and we have tried other places but we always return to this hotel. The price is great and they even have some great meal/room/excursion packages.

Are family and I are looking foward to returning next year and once again Thank you to all the staff for a great stay.

Murphy family

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MurphyS048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We very much look forward to your return and your beautiful family. Our repeat guests are so important to us and it always encouraging to have the "Grand Family" continue to grow. Thank you for all your kind comments.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, NH
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our experience at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel was excellent. We stayed 3 nights in November, just before the hotel was closed down for the season, so the off-season rates were right in our budget (~$99). Parking is plentiful (for off-season, anyway). Front desk service was helpful, easygoing, and professional. The hotel itself has history and character and yet is updated, clean, and classy. Much homier than chain "business class" hotels. Local to everything. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. Really no negatives during our stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We do so hope to have you return. Your comments on the property and staff are much appreciated. Have a relaxing Winter.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I came for Veterans Day wknd. We had a quiet, relaxing time. The hotel is within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. The Shore Path entrance was just a street away, providing for a beautiful walk along the coastline. Entrances to Acadia are only a 5 minute drive away.
Rooms are very cozy, beds comfortable. Nice amenities- TV, fridge, coffee maker. Would come back!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Our location is so beneficial to our guests. We're happy you had a relaxing time a truly hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing