We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, wonderful stay there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days while touring Maine. It is fairly new and very nicely decorated. The room was spacious and comfortable with a king bed. The staff was very, very helpful and courteous and gave us great ideas for things to do in the area. We wanted to go to Arcadia National Forest but unfortunately got there just after the government shut down in the fall of 2013 and could not drive through. Many bikers and hikers was still enjoying the park, however. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety of foods and plenty of room for the guests to enjoy. The location in Bar Harbor was excellent. We could walk to many restaurants in the neighborhood, the Village Green and it was only a short drive to the harbors. We went out on the Lulu Lobster Boat which was very educational and entertaining. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mah813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
You must come back now that the issue with the Park is over. However, thanks for coming and enjoying our property. We are very happy you had plenty to do, despite the Park issue. We are in a great location for walking about town. Many guests that came while the Park was closed got to enjoy the other areas of the Island while they were. Thanks for your recommendation.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    356
    57
    8
    4
See reviews for
354
579
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Off season rates at the hotel are very reasonable. The facility is pleasant, clean & comfortable, and the staff is friendly & helpful. We though we would have a noise problem being so close to the elevator, however, our room was very quiet. Rooms and baths are large, although they can do better for guests by providing HDTV & an easier operating TV system.. The in town location is convenient to restaurants & shopping, however, if you are looking for a hotel with a view, this is not the place for you. Breakfast is basic fair & can improve with some fresher items, but this is an added convenience to have the meal on the premises. Since we were visiting in early spring, we did not make use of the pool, however, finding the pool in the middle of their parking lot didn't seem very inviting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LindaJohn612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are so pleased you stayed with us and enjoyed your room. We appreciate your comments and always looking for ways to improve.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is well located and you can walk to many shops and restaurants. Our room was large, clean and very attractively furnished. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size although the bathtub was very narrow. Buffet breakfast is included in the rate. Dennis, the manager, was very friendly and went out of his way to be helpful - advising us about tours, restaurants, etc. The staff at the front desk was also friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay at this hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are very pleased you stayed with us and thank you for your kind words on my staff. It is always a joy to take care of our guests and give them advice needed. We sincerely hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight and were very pleased with the throw back feel of the Grand hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast area has a nice flow to it with plenty of seating. The Grand is a great place to stay if you want to be close enough to walk to all the shops and restaurants. We will be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We anxiously await your return. Our location is repeatedly commented on and rightly so. Thank you for your comments on our rooms and breakfast.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed one night in May this year and I wanted to share what a great hotel this is. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were great and helpful. Excellent breakfast in a bright and well laid out breakfast room. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel. It is at the quiet end of the street and an easy walk to all the main areas of interest. Lots of good restaurants and shops are close by.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back which faces the pool and parking lot as opposed to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeslegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. My staff always make me proud at their diligence in maintaining our rooms. I also appreciate my front desk staff making our guest feel welcome and helping them with information requested. We truly are location in an area that makes it easy to walk throughout the town. Please return and we will strive to take good care of you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were very pleased with the great value. Facility & rooms were cleaner than norm. The location is ideal - short walk into shopping area and close to the National Park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Loved the fact that smoking on the grounds is limited to a small "hut" in the parking lot. This will be our first choice next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Your title is always our goal for our guests. It helps us to know we are doing our job. We truly hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Once again it was "coming home." We stay at the Grand twice a year and love it. The staff is very caring and helpful ... and respond to all our needs. The rooms are large and spotless and the location is perfect... we walked to dinner each night. The addition to the breakast was a nice surprise.. We will be home again in the Fall !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Welcome Home! We are always pleased with our return guest. You are so important to us and you are like a family to us. Thank you so much with you frequency of stay and comments on our property. We have been getting alot of comments on our breakfast. We look forward to the Fall and your coming home again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing