We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Harbor Inn is Amazing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We started on the deck at Happy Hour (From 4:30 to 6:30) which is a well kept secret and the best spot in Bar Harbor to spend a little time before a fabulous dinner. The bar staff was friendly and the wait staff was well trained and all smiles. We have been going there for about 15 years and Cathy Walton the Food Service Manager works very hard to make sure every detail is taken care of. No question this is the gem of Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Sorry, wrong property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is an affordable and clean hotel with a major attraction: its location. A short walk to almost anywhere in downtown Bar Harbor, it's perfect for people who want to checkout the shops and walk on the coast without having to get in the car.

The hotel advertises a full breakfast, and while it's not bad by any means, it's really just a continental breakfast with optional microwaved eggs and bacon/sausage.

The hotel is clean and well serviced, the decor passable. Friendly service tops off a first-rate hotel for those who want a casual and affordable stay in downtown Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MrMcPurpleGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. Once again our guests comment on our location. It truly is a wonderful feature and we thank you again for mentioning this. Not having to move your car and look for a place to park is very difficult during the busy season. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here during our trip to Acadia National park. The beds were very comfortable and the complementary breakfast is above average. It is right in Bar Harbor and we walked to all of the resturants and shops. There is even a little coastal path that takes you along the sea and you come out just above the hotel at the end. The staff is very friendly and rooms were clean. We originally planned to stay one night but liked it so much me stayed an additional night. This will definitely be where we stay on our next visit to Acadia!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaG1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments on our property and thank you for extending your stay. Without a doubt, the shore path is a beautiful walk. We truly hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spend a long weekend (Memorial Day). This was our third trip to Bar Harbor/Acadia and the Grand is a great hotel. It is very reasonable, very clean, a few blocks from everything, and the breakfast are included (really good). I would not stay anywhere else in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlrXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We so appreciate your comment. It helps us to know we are doing our job. You're talking about our breakfast is making me hungry. Please continue to come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days while touring Maine. It is fairly new and very nicely decorated. The room was spacious and comfortable with a king bed. The staff was very, very helpful and courteous and gave us great ideas for things to do in the area. We wanted to go to Arcadia National Forest but unfortunately got there just after the government shut down in the fall of 2013 and could not drive through. Many bikers and hikers was still enjoying the park, however. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety of foods and plenty of room for the guests to enjoy. The location in Bar Harbor was excellent. We could walk to many restaurants in the neighborhood, the Village Green and it was only a short drive to the harbors. We went out on the Lulu Lobster Boat which was very educational and entertaining. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mah813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

You must come back now that the issue with the Park is over. However, thanks for coming and enjoying our property. We are very happy you had plenty to do, despite the Park issue. We are in a great location for walking about town. Many guests that came while the Park was closed got to enjoy the other areas of the Island while they were. Thanks for your recommendation.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Off season rates at the hotel are very reasonable. The facility is pleasant, clean & comfortable, and the staff is friendly & helpful. We though we would have a noise problem being so close to the elevator, however, our room was very quiet. Rooms and baths are large, although they can do better for guests by providing HDTV & an easier operating TV system.. The in town location is convenient to restaurants & shopping, however, if you are looking for a hotel with a view, this is not the place for you. Breakfast is basic fair & can improve with some fresher items, but this is an added convenience to have the meal on the premises. Since we were visiting in early spring, we did not make use of the pool, however, finding the pool in the middle of their parking lot didn't seem very inviting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LindaJohn612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so pleased you stayed with us and enjoyed your room. We appreciate your comments and always looking for ways to improve.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is well located and you can walk to many shops and restaurants. Our room was large, clean and very attractively furnished. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size although the bathtub was very narrow. Buffet breakfast is included in the rate. Dennis, the manager, was very friendly and went out of his way to be helpful - advising us about tours, restaurants, etc. The staff at the front desk was also friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay at this hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are very pleased you stayed with us and thank you for your kind words on my staff. It is always a joy to take care of our guests and give them advice needed. We sincerely hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £80 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing