We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Acadia Hotel(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balance Rock Inn(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ANCHORAGE MOTEL(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morgan House Inn(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    The Central House(Bar Harbor)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (1,389)
    Filter reviews
    1,389 results
    Traveller rating
    926
    388
    62
    9
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    926
    388
    62
    9
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgreat locationin towncontinental breakfastwithin walking distancemain streetfront porchshops and restaurantsrocking chairsacadia national parkwonderful hotelbagelscorner rooman easy walkstay there againreading roomfront desk staffwould highly recommend this hotel
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    821 - 826 of 1,389 reviews
    Reviewed 30 May 2014

    We had a wonderful experience at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was always cleaned promptly in the morning. The continental breakfast was substantial and coffee available all day was very nice on the chilly evenings. The Grand is in a wonderful location to access all of the shops, restaurants, and Frenchman's Bay.

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    2  Thank ladyreb71
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

    It is always pleasing to hear our guests had a wonderful experience. I am so proud of my staff. We always make it our goal to have satisfied customers. We hope you will return soon.
    Dennis W. Clark, Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 May 2014

    We had a wonderful stay at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel during the Memorial Day weekend. We love the central location of this hotel, making it easy to walk to town and local restaurants. The people were friendly and helpful and the rooms are sparkling clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was updated, spacious and had a large counter. They also offered a self-serve breakfast in the morning that had all we needed to start the day. For restaurants, Mache Bistro was #1. You have to try it...you won't be disappointed. We ate at Cafe This Way the second night and had a great meal there as well. We also enjoyed excellent lobster rolls (loaded with chunks of lobster meat) at the Side Street Cafe. Thank you for making our visit so enjoyable. We'll be back soon!

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    2  Thank AliceMaine
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

    And I thank you so much for staying with us and we truly hope to see you again soon. We will of course do as expected and give you the service that deserves this review. We await your return.
    Dennis W. Clark, Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 May 2014

    Perfect location, rooms clean and quiet. No problems. We were able to walk to all restaurants and shops. Parking is free and convenient. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was great.

    Room Tip: We had the first floor in the back of the building. It was great because we didn't have to wait for an elevator.
    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    3  Thank Joan M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

    Thanks for your comments. Location is a great feature and we are pleased that found other features to your liking. We have 3 containers throughout the property for returnables. We will be happy to point them out to you on your return, which we hope you will.
    Dennis W. Clark, Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 May 2014

    The location of this hotel is prime. We were able to park in the hotel lot and then walk the entire weekend! It was fabulous. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the price was very on point. I will definitely stay here again.

    • Stayed: May 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Abicowles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

    We love hearing that people appreciate our location. During busy seasons it is difficult to find places to park. Once you park your car with us (which is free), you never have to move it. You can walk to everything. Looking forward to your return.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 May 2014

    We very much enjoyed our stay at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel. We had purchased a package for a 3 night stay which included an afternoon sailing trip around Porcupine Island, a dinner at the dining room in the Bar Harbour Inn and a lobster bake at the same hotel at the terrace overlooking the harbour. The weather was sunny for this time of the year which added to our enjoyment of this special weekend. Bar Harbor is a lovely small community and we found the friendliness of the storekeepers touching and very accommodating.
    The hotel provided excellent service with clean rooms and well motivated staff.
    Recommend this hotel for a nice get away from city life.

    Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor close to elevator providing easy access with our luggage
    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank Joe S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

    Thank you so much for staying with us. The food at the Inn is without doubt the best in Bar Harbor. Wish the weather could always be pleasant as it certainly adds to peoples enjoyment. My staff works hard to keep our property "sparkling". We definitely work had to be friendly to our guests. Please come back.
    Sincerely,
    Dennis W. Clark, Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews