We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Harbor Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was a great choice. Excxellent location, friendly staff, quiet and clean. Breakfast was good and reliable. Parking was plentiful . We opted to stay an extra night since we were so pleased. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It's a feel good thing for me when guest extend the stay. It helps us to appreciate we are doing our jobs. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for a week in June. Rooms were nice service was great location was awesome. Walking distance to great dining and shopping. Complementary breakfast was great especially for the kids. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conns55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thanks for bringing your family for the week. We are looking forward to your return and will strive to continue to deserve such returns.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel was very nice and clean with good service and good breakfast. We loved being able to walk down the street to many restaurants and shops. The nearby shore walk was also very enjoyable. Of course, Acadia access is great. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: This is a perfect location for walking to restaurants, shops, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JRTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are thankful that we have such a great location and so many exceptional restaurants. Acadia National Park is what brings people to our door step and we would be honored if you return to us in the future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed one night here and was pleased with all aspects. We arrived early in the day so our room was not ready, however we were able to park our car while we went exploring down town. Perfect location, walking distance to shops and restaurants. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The towels were the best, super soft! There is continental breakfast served in the morning with variety of foods. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellowyelloww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We thank you for your comments and for staying with us. Your enjoying you stay with us is very important and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Recently spent four nights at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel. Staff and management were very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is located at the end of Main Street so it was centrally located and quite. Definitely a place we would stay at again. Nice place for families and reasonability priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We strive to keep our property appealing in all ways. The location is beyond beneficial. We hope you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived after midnight and were accommodated quickly. The rooms were large and very nice. Close walking distance to all the great things to see in Bar Harbor. The breakfast was excellent. Hot waffles, eggs, sausage, fruit, pastries, French toast, yogurt, and more. Over all a great stay. I could have stayed longer. I didn't try the pool but a few brave souls were enjoying it.

Room Tip: If you can't sleep when the sun comes up bring a sleep mask . The sun is up early in Bar Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 449jtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us. You should have tried the pool, we keep it at 82 degrees. Also, next time you return (and we hope you will) we will have a large hot tub. The location is so beneficial and the breakfast is yummy. Again, hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently spent 3 nights in Bar Harbor, and one of the reasons this was a pleasant visit is that we discovered the Grand a few years ago, what a find! Other high end hotels could learn from the manager and staff how to treat their guests. The rooms are very clean, breakfast is plentiful, and we are always welcomed with a warm and genuine smile. Well done Denis!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am privileged to have a wonderful staff to care for our guests needs. I am very proud of them and have great confidence that they will continue to deserve such comments about our hotel. We look very much forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 42 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#10 of 42 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 42 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £73 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing