We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Very good hotel, great location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Clean, comfortable, and well appointed rooms. Good breakfast. Great location relative to downtown Bar Harbor. We actually stayed in 2 different rooms, since we decided to stay an extra night - both were great. Only complaint - internet service stinks - it just cannot handle the number of users in the hotel. Everything else was great.

Room Tip: Probably would prefer to avoid first floor rooms (we stayed on floors 2 and 3 - both were fine).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I will start by stating we have put a call into computer tech to see if he could remedy the problem. We do offer ethernet cables also. I appreciate you comments on the rooms and breakfast very much. It is our goal to eliminate complaints, thus I give you my assurance, I will doing everything possible to improve the internet. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    380
    60
    9
    4
See reviews for
430
621
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Loved everything about the hotel....the staff, the rooms, the breakfast, etc. Slept great! My favorite - the relaxing front porch. We also took advantage of the washer/dryer. Our kids loved the warm pool and hot tub. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
And I will say, we loved that you loved so much about our hotel. I always say, people are on vacation to relax and our beds take care of that. We are also pleased with the response to our upgraded breakfast. The families really enjoy the pool and hot tub. We can't wait for you to return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

GREAT LOCATION right on the edge of downtown with everything within easy walking distance, but not right in the middle of the traffic and crowds. Easy access to island shuttle, village green, shore path, shops, & restaurants. Attractive, comfortable rooms with QUIET air conditioning. Very helpful staff at front desk. Comfortable lobby. Nice front porch at street level with rockers. Elevator was a must for our multi-generational group. Parking on site. Negatives: rooms on top floor feel just a bit cramped compared to other floors; breakfast quality okay but not what I would expect for this level of accommodation.

Room Tip: Not a big factor for us, but lobby, front desk, gift shop, and breakfast are located in "main&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
The location is such a wonderful feature for our guests. So difficult to find a place to park downtown. Yes, you can truly walk the entire town. I always enjoy hearing praise given to my staff. I am very proud of all of them. Yes, a great place to relax on the porch with the rockers. We hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Bar Harbor Grand is ideally located and only a few minute walk from all the action of Bar Harbor. Our room was spacious rooms and bright with a lot of windows. This turned out to be the only downside of our stay as we were given the first floor room on the left corner of the hotel. This room had a lot of windows and when we walked in thought wow how beautiful. The problem was, with the window shades open it felt like the room was right on the street and was a spectacle for pedestrians. I would stay here again, but ask for a different room. This hotel also features a very nicely stocked breakfast buffet that was included. In particular, I enjoyed the hot oatmeal bar and the fruit salad. On the last day my wife and I discovered a cool sort of secret path that most tourists probably don't find. If you walk straight out of the hotel's front doors and continue down that street, you'll pass some charming homes and then in a short distance, you will come to a narrow pathway that leads to the beautiful Bar Harbor Shore Path. Beautiful place for a walk or jog.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor rooms on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
The room you had is often request. During the day, closing the shears works for most and of course the curtains at night. We would always strive to meet requests for location of rooms, however, not always possible. The breakfast seems to meet most peoples needs. We actually strive to mention the shore path to guests that are making inquiries. Happy you were able to find it. We truly hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed two nights at the Bar Harbor Grand. I am torn between an average and very good rating. The place is old but pretty well kept, the staff was very nice and helpful. It is nothing fancy despite the name but the location is great. Just a couple blocks from the Village Green. The rooms are pretty spacious. They offer an included hot breakfast. The breakfast is not very good and reminds me of a college cafeteria food. It is all self service with eggs that are shaped into patties (they were salty) and what seems like frozen french toast. They also have cold cereal and below average coffee. My recommendation is to go else where (like Cafe This Way for awesome blueberry pancakes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jconviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for staying with...sorry our breakfast did not meet your needs although many enjoy it. Very happy my staff took care of your needs. Many comment on our location and the rooms. It pleases us that you enjoyed that as well. Our hotel is relatively new, built in 2003 and modeled after an old boarding home built back in the late 1800. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel for 4 nights as part of a 2 week holiday exploring New York, the Maine coast and Boston. We chose this hotel on the back of good Trip Advisor reviews and its great location in Bar Harbor. We booked from the UK back in December and Dennis, the manager, was helpful with our questions and sorting out the booking.

The hotel was ideally situated for us being a 5 minute walk into the bustling centre of Bar Harbor with its inviting restaurants, bars and attractive water front and a short drive/bus ride to the wonderful sites of Arcadia National Park itself. The car parking was ample, despite it being a very busy period.

Our check-in was warm, friendly and helpful and the front staff remained so throughout our stay. There was lots of information available at reception, staff were happy to offer advice and there was a little shop for buying any smaller necessary items. Our room on the 4th floor was large, clean, bright and quiet with comfortable beds. WiFi worked well (if a little slow at times) and there was a large fridge and modern flat screen (not that we used this).

The free breakfast was a wee bit functional but tasty and perfect for the types of days we were having (i.e. throwing ourselves out for hiking and climbing). There was a wide choice on offer with lots of cereals, breads, bagels, muffins, juices, fruits and some hot choices (e.g. omelet’s, bacon, scrambled eggs etc), which rotated on a daily basis, and fresh tea/coffee. The breakfast area was kept efficiently clean and the staff friendly.

There was a small pool/Jacuzzi area, which we didn’t use, and a small gym, which we did, (pretty basic/limited but fine for our needs). One huge plus point for us was the fact that there were washing machine/dryers in the basement with washing powder etc available at the front desk for a small cost. We’d been on the road for over a week (and had another 9 days to go) and with lots of hiking/climbing this facility really helped.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is certainly not what you would describe as ‘Boutique’, and doesn’t have the grander views afforded those by the water side but the location is perfect if you want somewhere peaceful and just a very short walk to all the attractions in Bar Harbor. It’s well managed, friendly and comfortable and I would certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor facing the pool. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate hearing comments on our property and location. The free parking is enjoyed by all. Comfort during your stay is of high priority and our beds certainly contribute to that as you mentioned. Breakfast is a great way to start your day and glad to hear that worked for you as well. The laundry is also an important feature. Thanks again for staying and please return.
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

There will be a familiar theme for my reviews: accommodating a 6'2" 15 year old in a family of 5 is difficult. This room (two rooms actually) was big, but we still needed a roll-away. Still, the place was clean and we were provided everything we needed.

Location, location, location. The hotel is located right on Main St in Bar Harbor within walking distance to just about everything. And the island isn't that big so almost anything we planned was just minutes away.

I would love to stay again given the opportunity, but it is a long way from Michigan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are glad we were able to accommodate your family. I'm guessing you were referring to one of our two bedroom units. Cleanliness should be priority in hotels, and we always strive for that goal throughout. The mention of our location is done so frequent and we appreciate hearing it over and over as it is a great feature. We will work on pulling Michigan closer to us so that you may return LOL. Regardless, we do hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,694 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing