We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
CT
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

What's not to love? Location, service, cleanliness, amenities- all great. OK- two things that could improve: the continental breakfast is barely adequate. Not really enough to hold you if you're heading out to hike Acadia (as we were). The only other thing was that the window blinds didn't keep the room dark in the morning (I'm a light sleeper) But we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    352
    57
    8
    4
See reviews for
348
576
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

This place is the perfect location to stay at in BH. We love the staff, especially Dennis the manager. We are never disappointed. The rooms are very nice and comfortable, super clean, very nice bedding and a hair dryer, coffee pot, and small fridge in each room. We also love the heated pool and hot tub. You can walk to everything from this location. It is also very quiet. We LOVE the breakfast and take advantage of it every morning. Can't wait to stay again next year!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liasnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Visited Acadia this summer with my family again but this time stayed in a hotel rather then renting a home.

Picked a package rate that included a cruise and dinner which was a good option for us. Arrived in Bar Harbor on a Monday and checked in around 4pm. Our reservations were correct and the front desk gentlemen were very nice. I asked to book our schooner ride for the next morning and got our tickets a hour after we settled in. We had a room 411 which was a King bed.

Room was very clean, lots of space, television and small fridge. Plenty of drawer space to unpack. Pictures on their website are accurate. We overlooked the swimming pool in the back. Bathroom was decent sized and plenty of space. Wifi was ok, not always a good signal, they did have 2 computers in the lobby for use to check email if you needed.

They served a continental breakfast in the morning which consisted of cereal, breads, bagels and hard boiled eggs. It was ok. No problems with seats/tables.

The hotel is on main street a few minutes away from the pier and the bars/restaurants (not that it is very loud). We enjoyed eating in bar harbor and having a nice walk back to the hotel.

My son wanted to swim and we did use the pool. They keep the outdoor pool at 80 degrees so felt like a bathtub. My son loved it. My wife and I got to use the gym in the basement, a few machines and weights with 2 televisions.

Overall, very enjoyable stay and would recommend to anyone asking. Only one mix-up during our stay, the schooner folk said the hotel front desk never made reservations for us that Tuesday morning so we ended up having to go back later that evening. Still fun but beware it gets cold out there after the sun sets.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel from August 22 - August 25. The location was perfect: a short drive to magnificent Acadia National Park and within walking distance to tons of shops and restaurants and bars. Our room was on the first floor, close to the hotel's parking lot. I was worried about noise, lack of privacy, etc. My fears were unfounded. Our room was peaceful and quiet with no hint that we were on the first floor! The bathroom was modern and EXTREMELY CLEAN, as was the entire room. Spotless. If you are a clean freak, you will be perfectly happy in one of the rooms in this hotel. Also, the hotel offers a complimentary Continental Breakfast. I usually hate continental breakfasts because I have no desire to start my day by eating sugary muffins and drinking bad coffee. However, the coffee was delicious and the breakfast offerings included hard-boiled eggs, delicious fruit salad, granola, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, waffles, toast and even fruity kid's cereals. My boyfriend and I ate breakfast there every morning and then headed to Acadia to hike. The drive to Acadia is mere minutes. And the hotel staff was genial and accommodating - especially when providing me with driving directions! After an afternoon of exploring the magnificent park, we returned to the hotel, cleaned up, and walked right outside of the hotel to the numerous shops and restaurants. (Also, the hotel had a business center with Wifi and computers, etc., a fitness center and a pool, but we did not use or check out any of these amenities.) We loved this trip - it was worth the 9 hour drive from NYC. The staff and accommodations at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel were second only to the amazing Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maritee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

From the moment we set foot in the lobby, we were greeted with a warm welcome and this continued throughout our stay. The facility is spotless. The staff is warm and genuinely friendly. The room was very comfortable with the exception of some noise from the occasional tour bus loading and unloading. Though small in scale, the staff managed very well the simultaneous demands of catering to large tours as well as the couple or small family. The location is great for walking around the town. The promotional materials were accurate. We would go back in a NY minute! Dennis and his staff should be proud of their efforts!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berns2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Although a bit expensive, the package we received included a dinner and a sunset cruise which was equal to one nights stay. The hotel was clean, quiet and in a great location, an easy walk to downtown. The staff was friendly and courteous. The continental breakfast was just enough to get the day off to a good start. When I visit Bar Harbor again, I won't hesitate to stay here again....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teek3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel had nice facilities but zero customer service skills at all. We dealt with 3 separate people at the front desk, and discovered an attitude of laziness and contempt that should have management at this hotel quite concerned. Upon check in, a tall disheveled looking male hastily checked us in and then stopped us before we could settle a billing issue from the online reservation we had made, explaining to us that he "needed to get the phone". Generally speaking, in a retail environment, the customer in front of you is far more important than the phone ringing. There obviously was a staffing issue there, as he should have not been alone at the desk on Friday afternoon in peak season. So, we figured we would address the issue upon check out. When that attempt was made, two staff members explained to us that the bill was a done deal, and they could do nothing to help us, and "we should work it out between ourselves". Anybody who has ever run a cash register knows you can reverse a charge and rebill it correctly, but not these two. They appeared irritated at such an ordinary request. It is a shame, because aside from the highly unprofessional front desk staff, the hotel was quite nice. Hopefully management will focus on training staff in correct customer service skills.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petero71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing