We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and nice hotel but for the price, the beds need updated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and nice hotel but for the price, the beds need updated.”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed her for 4 nights while visiting Acadia National Park. The hotel was in a terrific location, walkable to anything in Bar Harbor. The parking was very convenient. The hotel itself was very nice and the breakfast each morning was a great way to start a long day at the park. My only complaint is that the beds seemed very old and thin. We didn't really sleep well at all. I would think for the price we paid, that they would have nice, comfy beds. Truly, if we did it over again, we would probably stay somewhere cheaper since the only time we were in the rooms was to sleep and shower. However, it really is a lovely property and the staff is extremely helpful, especially the gentleman that works nights during the week. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdysBigAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    380
    60
    9
    4
See reviews for
430
621
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

If you want to be in downtown Bar Harbor; with off street parking for hotel guests only; and within walking distance of everything downtown, this is the place. Very nicely done; good breakfast area; very helpful staff (the manager was outstanding); and a good business center right off the lobby. Everything downtown is "walkable" from this place one block south of the square. This is a new hotel; very well done' rooms are very comfortable. Only negative is that the TV in the room is not placed well for viewing from the table; at least in our room; but that is a minor deal. This is a very good place and gets a rare "10" from us. When we come this way again, we will definitely book this place because we are not B and B people; we like a true hotel; this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CACTUSPETEAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

***Hotel is approx. 7-10 minutes from Acadia National Park entrance***

My wife and I stayed at 'The Grand' for two nights in Bar Harbor. Incredibly clean hotel. We kept commenting on how good it smelled inside.

Very friendly staff including G.M. who took time to explain benefit of upgrading to package. For $90 more total, we got $91 dinner at sister hotel's restaurant (on water), $70 boat ride on the Margaret Todd and $20 in hotel gift shop. You do the math!

We did not take advantage of fitness room or outdoor pool.

Free Wi-Fi and free parking.

Hotel is about three blocks from heart of Bar Harbor. A few minute walk, plus you get to see additional shops not on main strip.

I have to agree with previous posts about lack of variety in breakfast. I could see how it would get old if you stay here for multiple days. (Great coffee, though.)

Pillows were a bit tough, but rooms were well appointed.

In all, very pleased. Hope you will be as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COSouthpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

There is nothing bad about the hotel. The rooms are nice, the breakfast is good, and everything else is nice. I wish there would have been an indoor pool, but only two hotels in Bar Harbor did. I would have been happier with staying here if the price had been lower, but most of the hotels in Bar Harbor are expensive. The hotel itself is great, and it is right in town in close proximity to restaurants and Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowyBlizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Checked in on Friday and received a $20 gift store credit, a 2 Hour Harbor Cruise or Narrated Tour of Acadia National Park, a Dinner or Downeast Lobster Bake at the Bar Harbor Inn and daily continental breakfast.
The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. What a great place!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The location was great since you could walk to everything. For the price, however, we felt the bedding, bath and continental breakfast were more like a two star hotel. How many times can you serve the same yogurt? The room was neat and clean. The shower surround is the plastic insert type and the shampoo and lotion (bath amenities) are from wall mounted dispensers, which felt a bit cheesy. The bed sheets were really thin, actually pilled. The mattresses are very hard and so were the pillows! For the rates being $160 and up, we were very disappointed. Competitors in this range usually have comfy beds and linens and nicer amenities in the bath including lofty towels, as well as a better variety for continental breakfast. Even the towels were inferior to most hotels. However, as we discovered on our first visit to this area, there is not much competition for a hotel with a good location. We found the staff to be young and inexperienced and the man who handled our request to change the linens was rather businesslike and unfriendly and certainly not apologetic. The staff didn't seem to notice people coming in and out as they seemed very busy on their computers. After checking out, we were told that we were "free to go". We thought this was a free country afterall! We actually believed the young man was a bit lacking in confidence and unsure of the appropriate farewell. The room is a little noisy if you keep the windows open, as the area is very busy. Overall, we felt it was very overpriced for what they offered, which may explain why they have such costly rules regarding "early checkout" and/or "cancellations". Doesn't allow for options to go elsewhere. That is where booking online can be tricky. You can only hope that you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerrapinTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The rooms were clean and neat.... the staff was down home friendly.... the hotel is "long in the tooth", so it might not rate up there with standards of brand new hotels, but it was so charming and welcoming!!!! Just a few blocks' walk from the waterfront..... no complaints!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,692 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing