We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Deborah, our hostess, was such a delightful,wonderful cook. We arrived the day when our government shutdown. She showed us ways to get around Bar Harbor and Acadia so that we could still enjoy our first visit to this area. Deborah booked reservations for you and gave you many suggestions of things to do. She has excellent knowledge of the area. Her B&B is such a delight. We stay in the Heritage Room and the Blue Room and had a sitting room outside. Just great. Every Night we had a delightful dessert waiting for us in the parlor. If you get the chance book this place. We met many nice people there and they all said they enjoyed Deborah and her Inn.

Room Tip: Check the web site. Not all rooms have TV.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our favorite B & B during a two week vacation to Maine, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia!! Felt like it was 1804 again arriving at this quaint Inn. Deborah was a dear and am so excited for her as she recently said "I do." God's richest blessings to you two <3 We had a wonderful suite, Abbe, I believe. Enjoyed the claw foot tub and just knowing we were staying in an old coach stop/tavern. Loved eating in the 1800's dining area visiting with others from around the world. Breakfasts were printed on paper announcing the dishes for the day, and they were delicious!!!!! Also yummy were the cookies/bars left on the pot belly stove at night. This was a bright spot in our trip since Acadia National Park was closed thanks to our government :-( So we would still like to visit the park and would definitely say with Deborah again!!!!
Must say that we were disappointed in the town of Bar Harbor....way too touristy, sorry to say.

Room Tip: Liked having a suite but bedroom quite small and we did not use other room that had a sofa, TV, frig...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48thAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here while visiting Bar Harbor. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home. Deborah was a gracious host and a great cook. We stayed in the Abbe Suite. The claw foot tub was a dream, the bed comfortable and the sitting area cozy. Just a short drive and you are in Bar Harbor or the park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallandTNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Coach Stop Inn. Deborah, our hostess, was very friendly and helpful! This was our first trip to Maine, and she set us up with great maps, excellent restaurant recommendations, and insider tips. We couldn't ask for a better experience! We loved our room, the Heritage! We appreciated the contemporary decor, comfy couch, and our private porch. We had been traveling for almost 2 weeks, so having a refrigerator in our room was the icing on the cake! And what delicious cakes and cookies awaited us each afternoon after a long day of exploring! Deborah is a fantastic chef! The 3 course breakfasts are delicious and creative. Thank you, Deborah, for making our last New England stop one of the best!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Innkeeper Deborah put this stay over the top for us. Her lovely breakfasts and willingness to make touring suggestions and dinner reservations for us were greatly appreciated. We stayed in the Blue Hill Bay room which was pleasant and had a small porch outside it. Our travel friends stayed in the Heritage room with a bigger porch, allowing the 4 of us to have a lovely afternoon glass of wine outdoors (albeit next to the driveway). The main house's living room is always open to guests and was a warm respite at the end of the day for coffee and cake supplied by Deborah. It's not within easy walking distance to town but if you have a car, it's the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This old house is well renovated and the room are cosy, clean with a very comfortable bed. The Inn is located at 5-8 minutes from Bar Harbor and very covenient to travel around the coast of Maine. Good breakfast and gracious hosts. I recommend for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The day we arrived was one the hottest of our entire month away. The room was air conditioned, thank God. The room had all the amenities but was perhaps a little overcrowded with furniture and dark. The bed was very comfortable. Our hostess made dinner reservations for us at a very good restaurant just down the road. The breakfast was superb, juice, coffee, hotcakes with homemade blueberry preseves and bacon. The waiter was very congenial and friendly. We enjoyed our stay at the Coach Stop Inn but missed not meeting the house dog Leon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
4.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
4.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 715 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £88 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef Owned/Operated Coach Stop Inn bed & breakfast built c.1804 is Bar Harbor’s oldest inn, originally a stagecoach stop and tavern. Our convenient location makes it easy to get to all that Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park have to offer. You’ll be sure to remember Deborah's attention to detail and glorious breakfasts and snacks. Come see why "Down East" magazine says Coach Stop Inn is "Where to Stay in Bar Harbor". As seen on Emeril Live. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coach Stop Inn Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing