We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and away from the touristy areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Manor
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing and away from the touristy areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The reservation process was very easy - all online. Checking in is a breeze. The room was very nice, perfect for the two of us. Check out was just as simple. Parking was not an issue but I imagine it could be during the heart of tourist season. A really nice experience with the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

The hotel is not in the main tourist area which is nice. But it is well within walking distance to whatever you want to do in Bar Harbor, or a short drive to Acadia National Park. This was a great vacation getaway - restful and eventful at the same time.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine that there is a bad room at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    119
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
58
285
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights on a recent trip to Bar Harbor in the newly renovated hotel building. The room itself was decent - comfy bed/pillows/sheets, good closet space to hang up our hiking clothes/jackets and a fridge to store food in for breakfast and hiking snacks (there is a grocery store about a five minute walk from the hotel). The hotel is within walking distance to the town and restaurants which was a major selling point for us.

Based on the reviews, we were really expecting to be blown away by the hotel but we came away just feeling "meh" about it. We arrived on the later side of check-in (they ask that you arrive between 3pm - 7pm or let them know you are running late so they can make sure someone is there to check you in) and it felt like the person checking us in was annoyed that we were there at 7:02pm (even though I called and left a message that we were running late). She checked us in and handed us a booklet with a map but didn't give us any additional info or assistance about the hotel or area. I guess I was expecting more of a B&B feel to the hotel based on the reviews so that's why I had expected slightly better customer service when we arrived. When we checked out though, the person who helped us was extremely nice and friendly.

Our room was cleaned every day but it felt like housekeeping did the minimal amount of what they could do. My toothbrush was taken out of the holder I had it propped on so it wasn't on the counter and put down on the counter and the soaps weren't replenished. It just seemed like someone cleaned around everything on the counters in the room and bathroom rather than throwing away garbage or really straightening up. I know that I can be picky when it comes to this kind of stuff but I feel like it's the little things that set hotels apart from others.

I would suggest that the hotel add dead-bolts to the doors of the hotel, especially the ground floor units where you enter through the parking lot and not the indoor corridor. One afternoon, we were taking a nap after hiking and were woken up by someone banging on our door. We started to get up to open the door but the cleaning lady was already letting herself in. She told us that she forgot to change the sheets that morning (luckily, we had stayed there the night before so hopefully they were our sheets anyway) and wanted to switch them. It was kind of strange considering the sheets she had in her hand were all balled up and did not look necessarily new/clean but we went outside while she changed the sheets. Three other cleaning ladies came into the room while she was changing the sheets and they all chatted while we were waiting outside for about 10 minutes.

Again, I know that some of these things might seem like little complaints and overall, the hotel was affordable with a good location. For the price, it was definitely worth it but if I went to Bar Harbor again, I wouldn't necessarily choose this hotel to stay at if I could get a good deal at another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarHarborManor, General Manager at Bar Harbor Manor, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Bar Harbor Manor. We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your room at our new Hotel. Guests always appreciate new beds, pillows and linens! We were particularly pleased that you pointed out that the Bar Harbor Manor is affordable and provides a good value. Your high marks for the room, sleep quality and location is greatly appreciated. We were, of course, disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your experience at check in. The Bar Harbor Manor has an excellent front desk staff. All of our desk staff are local and have a great deal of information and insight regarding our beautiful island that they enjoy sharing with our guests. Some guests prefer a lot of information at check in while some folks that have had a long day traveling prefer to stop back in the guest parlor and obtain area information at a later time. As you noted, our guests often comment on how friendly and helpful our staff is. You are right that the Bar Harbor Manor prefers to provide more of a small inn atmosphere upon arrival and we are pleased that you had a pleasant experience upon checkout. With respect to refreshing your room housekeeping has a routine to touch up guest rooms during their stay. Guest’s preferences range from no service to a thorough cleaning. We try to maintain a balance and have shared your feedback with the housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your suggestion that the Hotel add deadbolts however, as is standard industry practice and a AAA requirement, all of our guest rooms already have deadbolts. Our property has an excellent housekeeping staff and they did report the incident you noted. Housekeeping reported that there was a Service Please sign on the door and the deadbolt was not locked. The housekeeper knocked, waited and entered and was simply coming to change your sheets. The bundle of sheets you observed were being taken from the room to be replaced by new sheets. When the housekeeper realized you were waiting on your balcony she immediately called another housekeeper to assist her to minimize any inconvenience to your party.
We hope you have the opportunity to visit Bar Harbor again and hopefully you will choose to stay with us at the Bar Harbor Manor. We consistently strive to offer the best value in Bar Harbor. We are confident we will improve your experience with us and that you’ll have a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Bar Harbor Manor. We had a 3rd floor room in the section across from the lobby. No problem because of the elevators. The room was beautiful and had all the amenities we could need. The beds and pillows were so comfortable. We slept as well as we do at home. Housekeeping was great and very friendly, We loved sitting out on the little balcony. Although we may never get to this area again, this is a winner. Thanks for making our stay so great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combined Locks, Wi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very nice rooms. Extremely clean, comfortable, modern, only 5-6 blocks from shopping area. Stayed 2 nights. Maid service didn't replenish soaps and amenities for 2nd day, but that was minor and probably just an oversight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veratom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The inn consists of several buildings. My wife and I stayed in one of the suites for three nights. It was a second floor which was not a problem for us getting the luggage up the stairs, but others may want to request a ground floor. The room was very nicely decorted and we found it spotless when we arrived. It had a sitting area with two comfortable chairs and a flat screen tv. Also one on the wall in front of the very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was tiled with a granit vanity. Good size batthrooom. Tthere was no brreakfast, continental or otherwise, but there was a coffee machine in the lobby which was available 24 hours a day. Also a microwave and coffee pot in the room. There was a nice secluded side yard with chairs for sitting out. Staff was very friendly. Ten minute walk to town for some very good resturants. Quiet and excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddy_t000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in two different rooms at Bar Harbor Manor, September 5-7. Very clean. All employees were accommodating and kind. They even returned a pair of sandals that I accidentally left behind. There are great breakfast places nearby you can discover. I would definitely stay there again. . . if only I could go back! Bar Harbor is unique and lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlineagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 days. I had a 2 room suite. It was clean and the king bed was comfortable. The pull out sofa not so comfortable. Unit had microwave, refrigerator, and coffee pot with coffee. Towels were nice. It was about a 10 minute walk to harbor front which was fine when weather was nice. Not so fine the day it rained.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddyo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Property: Bar Harbor Manor
Address: 47 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bar Harbor Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor, Maine is a destination that has endless opportunities for play, adventure, romance and family fun. Your vacation will be filled with excitement, so unwind and spend your nights in restful and luxurious accommodations with us at Bar Harbor Manor. Our historic homes and inn, together with the hotel, create a private village within the village of Bar Harbor. With rich, bold colors, Victorian elegance, Italian tile, and fine cherry furniture, our guest rooms are all distinguished in the Inn. Reminiscent of a fine boutique hotel, all rooms are provided with plush towels and exquisite personal care lotions and products. Indulge in a stay at the Inn to enjoy a sense of history without sacrificing any modern comforts. Two meticulously landscaped acres are a quiet base for your vacation explorations. This Bar Harbor inn and hotel is just a stroll from the bold Atlantic Ocean, Acadia, shops, museums, whale watching, park and boat tours, and an astounding range of casual or upscale dining. Our friendly and professional staff is dedicated to making your visit a happy one. The owners are local and have been innkeepers in Bar Harbor for 24 years. We are knowledgeable about all the essential things to do and places to go, as well as those off the beaten track, and are available to help you with vacation plans and making reservations, and to provide concierge service. With our affordable rates and luxury, it is no surprise that Bar Harbor Manor is a repeat choice for so many Bar Harbor visitors. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing