We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, excellent location, reasonable price”
Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bar Harbor Manor
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights from June 23rd to June 26th while visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. I made the reservation online in January for a room with a queen size bed.
We received room #7 which is on the 2nd floor in the building behind the office. It has a huge deck with a table and 2 chairs and an assigned parking lot. The room itself is a bit small but nicely furnished like a B&B. The bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is on a quiet residential street. The downtown area is just a few blocks away, about a 10 minutes’ walk. This is great because you don’t have to look for parking downtown, something that is hard to find in downtown Bar Harbor.

On arriving we were welcomed by the friendly staff who gave us helpful information about Bar Harbor and the area. The hotel does not offer breakfast or other amenities such as a pool. However, this did not bother us. We either had breakfast at one of the close by restaurants or at our balcony before heading to Acadia National Park. The room is equipped with a coffee maker as well as a fridge, so it is not a problem to prepare your own breakfast.

We recommend this place to family and friends and would definitely stay here again if back to this area.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator. If you have difficulties climbing stairs, choose a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in May. There was champagne to welcome us - this trip was a romantic getaway (a mini-honeymoon). Our third floor hotel room was very spacious and clean. It was decorated simply but tastefully. The king bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nicely tiled and had ample counter space. The folks at the front desk were courteous and helpful. There was ample on-site parking for no additional charge. The hotel was conveniently located and within easy walking distance to several restaurants and a few blocks further to the downtown area. They did not offer breakfast but were just around the corner from a wonderful brunch place. The hotel was a short drive to the Acadia National Forest, where we enjoyed excellent hiking. We hope to return to Bar Harbor for a longer visit and would definitely stay at the Bar Harbor Manor again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FuzzyDice40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is located a couple blocks from downtown Bar Harbor. This make it nice because you can walk into town and not have to fight for parking. The suites are very clean and comfortable. This hotel does not have some of the amenities that you may expect such as a pool, or breakfast. However the relaxed atmosphere almost entirely makes up for that. The grounds are well kept. Overall I feel this is a great place to stay. When compared to other similar hotels in Bar Harbor it is a good value. I plan on staying here again.

There is only on area of improvement: The person that answered the phone (an older female) could benefit from some PR training. However, do not let that stop you from staying here. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MercsMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights starting July 12. We were welcomed in a most pleasant manner and offered suggestions as to what we could do during our stay. We stayed in Room 30 (king bed suite), which we found to be very clean and nicely furnished. We also had a small kitchenette that had a mini refrigerator, microwave, and coffe maker. However, both the bedroom and living area were dark, even with the curtains fully opened. The staff was willing to change our room, but that would have meant switching twice. We decided to stay put. Our recommendation would be to stay in a room that has a balcony. The inn is centrally located, making it easy to walk into town and is only a short distance to the supermarket.

Room Tip: A/C unit was noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Salvatore T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the July 4th holiday weekend and we were very impressed with this hotel. We had a king sized room on the 3rd floor and it was VERY SPACIOUS. IT was very clean, updated and very comfortable with a refrigerator, microwave and balcony to watch the sunset. This hotel is ideally situated away from the main center of town but certainly within walking distance to everything town has to offer. We would walk into town every morning for breakfast before heading out to Acadia National park or for a stroll across the sand bar to Bar Island. There are many shops and restaurants and we did not feel overcrowded despite the holiday weekend.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to all visitors to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa07480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in mid July 2014 for a mini stay in Bar Harbor. This place had very pleasant and helpful front desk staff. The room was very clean, nice size fridge to store our beverages/snacks. The room was a bit small, but very nicely appointed with furnishings like a B&B, The bed was super comfortable, we slept great. Each room has a nice outside deck chairs and small table. The hotel is on a quiet residential street. The downtown action is just a few blocks away, about a 10 minute pleasant walk. This hotel has several newer buildings. We stayed in the older building and we were still very happy! For the price, this was a great find for a summer room in bustling Bar Harbor ME. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel does not have elevators, so if you have difficulty with climbing stairs, ask for a 1st floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basset_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in early July 2014 during a short trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia National park. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was almost brand new. There was a small refrigerator (empty thankfully) and a microwave oven in the room. Free Wifif in room. AC in the room. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is away from the crowds and noise but within walking distance of all restaurants in Bar Harbor. The owner Brandan was manning the front desk when we got there and was very helpful and accommodating with suggestions for places to eat, etc. The refrigerator in the room was too cold and froze our vegetables and fruits over night. The parking was also a little onthe tight side, but no big deal. We will come back to this hotel if we find out way back to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reza5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Address: 47 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £202 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bar Harbor Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor, Maine is a destination that has endless opportunities for play, adventure, romance and family fun. Your vacation will be filled with excitement, so unwind and spend your nights in restful and luxurious accommodations with us at Bar Harbor Manor. Our historic homes and inn, together with the hotel, create a private village within the village of Bar Harbor. With rich, bold colors, Victorian elegance, Italian tile, and fine cherry furniture, our guest rooms are all distinguished in the Inn. Reminiscent of a fine boutique hotel, all rooms are provided with plush towels and exquisite personal care lotions and products. Indulge in a stay at the Inn to enjoy a sense of history without sacrificing any modern comforts. Two meticulously landscaped acres are a quiet base for your vacation explorations. This Bar Harbor inn and hotel is just a stroll from the bold Atlantic Ocean, Acadia, shops, museums, whale watching, park and boat tours, and an astounding range of casual or upscale dining. Our friendly and professional staff is dedicated to making your visit a happy one. The owners are local and have been innkeepers in Bar Harbor for 24 years. We are knowledgeable about all the essential things to do and places to go, as well as those off the beaten track, and are available to help you with vacation plans and making reservations, and to provide concierge service. With our affordable rates and luxury, it is no surprise that Bar Harbor Manor is a repeat choice for so many Bar Harbor visitors. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing