We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - big rooms”
Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bar Harbor Manor
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location - big rooms”
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed on the second floor of the main hotel in the "very Victorian" room during Memorial Day weekend. The room was great. We had a small fridge that we stored snacks and drinks. I enjoyed drinking coffee in the morning sunshine on the very large deck. The area was quiet, and we were a couple of blocks away from the grocery store. The only complaint I had was the foamy pillows. We were provided additional pillows, but they were no better.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Goyeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    119
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
59
289
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Two blocks away from the main drag, definitely walkable for the shopping and restaurants. Quiet, since it's on a side street just off Route 3. The shower is hot, the free wi-fi is strong, and the bed is comfy. Decor is rustic and in line with the rest of the island. My room in the main building was equipped with a minifridge, quite useful. Didn't need the innkeepers for anything, but they were sure friendly at checkin and checkout.

Word to the wise: do NOT even look at the chain hotels, which are outside of town and are generally not within reasonable/safe walking distance. For me, food such as complimentary breakfast was not a necessity since I was always up at dawn somewhere in the park for the spectacular sunrise.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank huangj02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We were extremely pleased with our stay at Bar Harbor Manor. We traveled with our soon-to-be 3 year old and found the room very comfortable & clean as well as spacious enough for our family & all our things! We stayed in the "hotel" style rooms, which included a mini-fridge. This was a great added bonus for us as it allowed us to eat in our room for breakfast. A small microwave would have been helpful, but not necessary. It is evident that the owners take great care in ensuring that the property looks nice and clean. The renovations are top notch and we felt like we were the first people to ever stay in our room. The location was perfect for walking to town and it is surrounded by charming inns, churches and homes. We appreciated the central location. The staff and owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We look forward to returning if we are ever back in beautiful Bar Harbor.

Cons: The heater in the room was pretty powerful. We had to adjust it frequently at night and the vent was aimed directly at the bed so it was a direct hit with the heat. I wish there had been some kind of plastic cover we could have used to redirect the air upwards and away from the bed. But considering it was cold outside, I guess complaining about an overactive heater is kind of crazy!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The Bar Harbor Manor was my husband's pick - and a fine job he did! When we arrived we met the very cool front desk lady Liz - who was a local (and mom) and was just a great guide for our one big night in town! She immediately upgraded us when she saw the amount of stuff we had (and the baby). We stayed across the street from the main building in a suite. The room was clean, enormous (we'd love to come back and stay there with my mom). Free parking and close to everything - including the grocery (since it was a suite - there was a stove/fridge/full kitchen!). Had we stayed there longer - it would've been fun to cook more than English muffins! We'll be coming back there - and hopefully soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Md.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Bar Harbor Manor is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are clean, large bathroom, modern and up to date, free parking and friendly and helpful owners. It is conveniently located, just a half block from to Cottage St., which has a numer of restaurants, stores etc. If you walk down Cottage St. 3 blocks you are at Main St., go left and your right at the harbor, go right and you have blocks of stores, restaurants and just about anything you might want. It's also just a short ride to the Acadia National Park, Southwest Harbor, Northeast Harbor or Bass Harbor. We stayed at Bar Harbor Manor in 2008 and liked it so much that when we came back in 2009, we stayed there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimcustom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Great place . Town is awesome and Acadia National park is da bomb!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GregR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We stayed at Bar Harbor Manor in October. They have several different types of rooms. Ours was probably a guest suite. It was very clean, nicely decorated, nice room with good TV. I found the bed to be very hard and the heating unit so noisy that I turned it off, even though it was very cold in the room. I couldn't sleep with the noise. It is located within a short walk of shopping and restaurants. Given the location, the price was reasonable. The Inn Keeper was very friendly and helpful. I never thought to ask for another room with a softer bed, but I believe they were booked solid anyway. I don't think I would stay there again because of the noisy heater and hard bed unless I couldn't get something better. Bar Harbor is filled with B & B's and hotels but it was very hard to get a room that was well rated when I was looking.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Property: Bar Harbor Manor
Address: 47 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bar Harbor Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor, Maine is a destination that has endless opportunities for play, adventure, romance and family fun. Your vacation will be filled with excitement, so unwind and spend your nights in restful and luxurious accommodations with us at Bar Harbor Manor. Our historic homes and inn, together with the hotel, create a private village within the village of Bar Harbor. With rich, bold colors, Victorian elegance, Italian tile, and fine cherry furniture, our guest rooms are all distinguished in the Inn. Reminiscent of a fine boutique hotel, all rooms are provided with plush towels and exquisite personal care lotions and products. Indulge in a stay at the Inn to enjoy a sense of history without sacrificing any modern comforts. Two meticulously landscaped acres are a quiet base for your vacation explorations. This Bar Harbor inn and hotel is just a stroll from the bold Atlantic Ocean, Acadia, shops, museums, whale watching, park and boat tours, and an astounding range of casual or upscale dining. Our friendly and professional staff is dedicated to making your visit a happy one. The owners are local and have been innkeepers in Bar Harbor for 24 years. We are knowledgeable about all the essential things to do and places to go, as well as those off the beaten track, and are available to help you with vacation plans and making reservations, and to provide concierge service. With our affordable rates and luxury, it is no surprise that Bar Harbor Manor is a repeat choice for so many Bar Harbor visitors. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing