We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Food”

Reading Room Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$37
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Refined pleasures await you in the Reading Room Restaurant. You will enjoy a dining experience where the delicious cuisine and attentive service are surpassed only by the breathtaking ocean view. Our menu includes fresh seafood, choice cuts of meat, daily specials and memorable desserts. Come join us and the nightly live entertainment of grand piano music which provides the perfect ambiance to the fine dining experience. Dinner is served nightly and the dress code is informal.Please note that we are unable to guarantee window tables You can request a window and we will do our very best!
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great View and Food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

As part of our hotel package, we had dinners on two different nights at the Reading Room. Each time we had window seats overlooking the harbor. The service was excellent and the food was plentiful and delicious. Would definitely recommend if you want fine dining and fine food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank she31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    185
    103
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fine view ... But certainly NOT fine dining”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to spend our last evening at The Reading Room, a fine dining restaurant or so it is portrayed. Unfortunately the only thing fine, is the view across the harbour! Poor service started at the bar on arrival through to our server at dinner. The best service we received was from our bus boy. Everything about the food was dreadful ... From stale breads (which we weren't served until after our starters were cleared as our server 'forgot'! ... To frozen and microwaved luke warm starters (the duck was appalling and only luke warm and the sweet potato purée was like rubber - looking like it had been piped into shape, frozen to store and microwaved warm to serve, absolutely disgraceful!)...To undercooked vegetables!
The best dish we received was the frozen lemon sorbet between courses, and it was complimentary!
This is NOT a fine dining restaurant ... Yes it has white tablecloths and a pianist (which was lovely to listen too), but that's were it ends. Wouldn't waste good money (it is expensive) and expectations of a lovely evening at this establishment.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank chopper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place to eat”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great view- nice staff and the food was really good! OK my wife and I both feel the lobster pie at the Maine Diner in Wells is the best--- but we finally found a #2, this was really good- and hey, when in Maine, eat lobster!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Bar Harbor”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We heard that the meal may be pricey, but it was not pricier than other dinners we had in town. The service is excellent and the views are great. Our meals were delicious and we chose the wine that was suggested in the menu for our entrees. It is a very satisfying experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lobster Dinner!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

When in Bar Harbor, one must have Lobster. Indeed our Lobster dinner was delicious. The service was great, the view spectacular. It was a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend reserving a table at the Reading Room.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reading Room Restaurant also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Reading Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing