We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for group outings”
Review of Osprey - CLOSED

Osprey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Topsham, Maine
1 review
“Perfect for group outings”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Maine Coast Heritage Trust has used Osprey on many occasions to offer trips to MDI Islands. The boat comfortably fits a larger group size and Toby offers a great experience for the group! The boat is very comfortable for longer trips, and is a smooth ride. We highly recommend using Osprey!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Craftsbury Common, Vermont
1 review
“A wealth of knowledge and experience”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I am a college professor and teach Marine Natural History of the North Atlantic. We regularly spend a week around MDI, including a few offshore excursions. I've been out off of MDI in a dozen vessels with half a dozen captains. The Osprey is tight and tidy and Toby provides a wealth of knowledge, experience, and overall "personableness" that exceeded my expectations. Having John Anderson (Professor of Ecology and Natural History at College of the Atlantic) on board is certainly a huge bonus, and between Toby and John the onslaught of information about the area is gleefully nonstop. We had a great trip and would charter the Osprey and Toby again in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Day To Remember”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

What a great day travelling in the Gulf of Maine on the MV Osprey! This day-long trip in September was one of the activities I arranged for the workshop I coordinated for the National Association of Biology Teachers and it turned out to be the highlight of the four days we spent on Mount Desert Island. On this trip we saw lots of wildlife, including whales, seals and seabirds. Captain Toby Stephenson was very knowledgeable and made this trip a wonderful experience for all the teachers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgeek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
1 review
“Great island day trip”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We hired the Osprey to take ten people out to Great Duck Island for the day as part of a natural history/ artist seminar, and it was a great experience! The boat is very comfortable even in choppier water, and the captain and crew did a fine job. For anyone who needs a vehicle to access out-of-the-way areas of Downeast, I would definitely recommend the Osprey.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
1 review
“Osprey is outstanding for work near-shore”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

In Aug 2012, our company needed a vessel in Coastal Maine to recover a robotic vehicle that had been on a mission for several months. The College of the Atlantic's R/V Osprey had a great reputation and we arranged to head out 10 miles for the recovery. This vessel is in perfect shape, and the marine crane on the starboard quarter is ideal for the task of launching and recovering instrumentation and vehicles.
The Captain, Toby Stephenson is an excellent pilot as well as ship-mate. His background and experience put him in the very top echelon of sea-faring men. He is fascinating to talk to and is involved with several very unique projects including processing whale carcasses to be used for display and study. We could easily have talked for hours or days about all the stuff we have done. I give him and the Osprey my highest recommendation.
Sincerely, Sea-Eben Franks

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaEben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osprey also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing