We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights to be within walking distance of restaurants etc. Stayed in the main house in a spacious room on the top floor, nicely furnished and very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent with a choice of homemade baked items. The location is excellent - really easy to get around. The cruise ships mean that it is very busy in Bar Harbour at this time of year.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms could be challenging for people who are less mobile.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you like to stay in Bar Harbor and especially downtown, you should really try Moseley Cottage and Town Motel. The Cottage is very nice, we have always stayed at the Motel part which is right next door. Always very clean and very reasonable. The convenience of already being downtown and not having to find a parking place is another big bonus. Next time there give them a chance!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Traveling with a friend, our first criteria was double beds. Our second criteria was inexpensive. Our third criteria was location. We got all three with this place.

I would have loved to see the rooms in the house, but we stayed in the hotel portion so we could have double beds. We were so pleasantly surprised at the room for the price. It was nothing fancy, but it had everything you need and it was clean.

The staff were very pleasant. With the hotel room you don't get breakfast, but we chatted with some other guests who said it was awesome. For all of the guests they make fresh chocolate chip cookies daily and had scones/muffins set out as well with a Keurig for coffee/tea.

The location is great. Just a block off the square.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank texanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Moseley Inn in Bar Harbor. We felt at home in a cozy historic house tastefully decorated. Our room was spacious, very bright and clean: every detail in the furniture carefully chosen.

What about the breakfast? Simply delicious! Excellent handmade cakes, eggs any style with savoury crispy bacon, fruits and yogurt everything served with smiling kindness. We sincerely recommend this hotel to people traveling to Maine also because it’s an ideal starting point to explore Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalvatoreVRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our first trip to Bar Harbor and we picked the Moseley Inn largely due to the reviews on Tripadvisor. Overall experience we very good....great breakfast, nice rooms, friendly staff, convenient location........and interesting guests!

We plan to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddevil97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stay in Bar Harbor once a year and this was a perfect setting for our trip. This was right down town and we walked everywhere. The room was very clean - we stayed in the motel section. Everyone was very nice and helpful, even Griffin the resident Bull Mastiff greeted us.
We will now make this our first go-to for our annual stay.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor of the motel - very little noise from above. So even the bottom floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have stayed many places in Bar Harbor including several the much-touted hotels and this is our favorite for a number of reasons. Our room is large and comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts and snacks are terrific, and everyone is extremely helpful. We are treated as individuals and actually called by our names.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank KaseyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £157 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing