We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in the motel section this past weekend in # 8. The room was spacious and clean and the beds and linens were excellent. We enjoyed the quiet second floor location and view across Atlantic Avenue, a beautiful street. Keurig coffee machine and caribou coffee was enjoyed. Best of all, the value for location and comfort was unbeatable. BTW, they have WIFI, which worked well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roger472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Moseley Cottage in the Sargent room this past weekend and we cannot wait to return. Pam is such a gracious host. Our room was so spacious and clean with a private porch. Unfortunately we didn't have a chance to enjoy the porch due to the rainy, cold weather. The breakfasts are some of the best you will find at an inn or B&B. You are given several options for your main dish but it's hard to turn away the delicious blueberry scones and other confections that are prepared fresh daily. Mary served us during our stay and was so friendly and helpful in suggesting places to visit during our stay. The location cannot be beat either. You are within walking or cycling distance to town. I cannot say enough good things about Moseley Cottage. Thank you Pam for doing such a fantastic job!

Room Tip: We will certainly request the Sargent room again. It has a king bed, large bath, fireplace and priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traciebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We visited Acadia and Bar Harbor for the first time over Columbus Day weekend. Only having 2 and 1/2 days there, our family of four (2 parents, 2 teenagers) wanted a location that was within walking distance of town and an easy drive to trails in Acadia. Moseley Cottage Inn was perfect on all accounts. Once back from the park, we left the car in their lot and walked one block from our quiet side street right into the center of Bar Harbor. Pam's recommendations for restaurants were great--in fact, we loved the Side Street Cafe so much, we ate two dinners there! The Precipice Room on the 3rd floor was one of the largest rooms in a B & B that we've ever seen! Everything was clean, comfortable and convenient. Coffee, tea and cookies were always available in the lobby, and the full breakfasts held us over until dinner. We loved that we could each choose our own hot entree, accompanied by fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade granola, pastries and breads. I have never written a review for a property, but our experience at Moseley Cottage Inn was so enjoyable, I felt an obligation to let others know about it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Precipice Room on the 3rd floor. Very quiet and sunny, with more than enough space fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Maxine859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel. We stayed in the motel section and were very happy with our choice. The motel is like an older motel with outside entrance and a real key, which is different from the modern hotels, but the room was clean, comfortable and everything we needed for our stay. We felt very safe in the room and walking all around the area. We were traveling to several places in Maine and Canada during the week, so we only stayed for two nights. When we checked in, the lady was surprised we were staying such a short period of time. I wish we had stayed for several more days as Bar Harbor was our favorite part of the trip. The Moseley is very convenient. It is just a short walk from the property to the center of Bar Harbor. Be sure to speak to the hostess when you check in about the different activities you want to do there. We got some great advice. They even loaned us a guided tour CD for Acadia National Park, which you need to be sure to do while there. We loved our stay!

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room in the motel, which was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KentAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Mosley Cottage Inn. It was so nice to find a B&B that had rooms with more than one bed. If you are traveling with kids, a husband who snores, or a friend you don't want to share a bed with, a B&B is usually not an option because they most often have only a queen or king bed. Our room on the main floor in the old library was incredible....lots of space, huge bathroom, and fantastic private porch. Visiting with other guests over morning coffee and breakfast was so relaxing. On my bucket list is another stay at this great property with nothing to do but enjoy the porch swing!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wildcat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had a wonderful week at the Moseley Cottage Inn. Pam was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was perfect- more than enough healthy options to keep you going for long days of hiking or exploring. The cookies available 24/7 in the foyer were insanely addictive.

I stayed in the Dorr room, which is a single, twin-bed room at the Inn. The pictures on the website don't do the room justice. While smaller, there was more than enough room for one person to relax comfortably- even for a week like me! No one wants to stay in their room all day when they're surrounded by Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park anyway! There was a small refrigerator and a 13" TV in the room. Everything was immaculately clean and the housekeepers were very friendly.

A huge Bullmastiff named Griffin also lives at Moseley but if you don't go searching for him you wouldn't even know he was there. He lives only in the private section of the house and is absolutely adorable!!! He never barks or makes any noise in case anyone has concerns about that.

Last but not least, I accidentally left my watch (not an expensive one, but still a good hiking watch all the same) in my room somewhere when I checked out. They mailed it back to me a few days later without my even calling or asking! I really hope the alarm didn't wake any other guests up in the middle of the night, but I really appreciate the awesome gesture of returning my watch.

The Inn is in a perfect location, has great food, wonderful staff, and is gorgeous in itself. I will definitely be returning. Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheTravelingPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This Inn (we were staying in the Inn rather than the motel section) gave us possibly the largest room we have ever had - with the attached private porch it would probably have easily housed a family of six with room to spare and we were just two. It was also full of beautiful old furniture and had a lovely swing on the porch. The service of the gentleman on reception was very helpful and informative and the tea/coffee and cookies available 24/7 were much appreciated. The breakfast was very tasty although perhaps the room used to serve it was a touch too small for the number of people being served. The location is also good for walking to dinner or shopping. Also having reserved parking is a big plus in a town which gets very crowded!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £105 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing