We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, awesome place”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in the motel section and it was wonderful. Such comfortable beds and so clean. This is the best location and everything is in walking distance. Trip advisor reviews all say how great this place is and it truly is the place to stay. We loved it, everything was perfect. This was a bucket list location and we choice to stay there on our visit to Acadia National park. So close to the park too.

Room Tip: I asked for a ground floor room and yes, we got one. So nice to have the request done for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    212
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
280
479
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had planned a week long trip up the east coast with friends had booked several different hotels along the way. I was most nervous about booking The Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel ..being that we were going to be staying in the motel part and the price was very reasonable. But I was nicely surprised. Although the room is not totally updated it was clean and the beds were awesome!!! The beds made me feet like I was in a luxury hotel...Loved them!! The rooms also have a Kuerig coffee machine in each room...which my husband loved. We also loved that we parked our car right outside our door which made for easy access. Location was great...We were able to walk into town which is also a big plus. I would not hesitate to stay again in the motel part or recommend this to friends ...although from what I saw of the Main Inn part I'm sure it would be lovely to stay in there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustJoan117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in the motel section this past weekend in # 8. The room was spacious and clean and the beds and linens were excellent. We enjoyed the quiet second floor location and view across Atlantic Avenue, a beautiful street. Keurig coffee machine and caribou coffee was enjoyed. Best of all, the value for location and comfort was unbeatable. BTW, they have WIFI, which worked well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Moseley Cottage in the Sargent room this past weekend and we cannot wait to return. Pam is such a gracious host. Our room was so spacious and clean with a private porch. Unfortunately we didn't have a chance to enjoy the porch due to the rainy, cold weather. The breakfasts are some of the best you will find at an inn or B&B. You are given several options for your main dish but it's hard to turn away the delicious blueberry scones and other confections that are prepared fresh daily. Mary served us during our stay and was so friendly and helpful in suggesting places to visit during our stay. The location cannot be beat either. You are within walking or cycling distance to town. I cannot say enough good things about Moseley Cottage. Thank you Pam for doing such a fantastic job!

Room Tip: We will certainly request the Sargent room again. It has a king bed, large bath, fireplace and priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traciebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We visited Acadia and Bar Harbor for the first time over Columbus Day weekend. Only having 2 and 1/2 days there, our family of four (2 parents, 2 teenagers) wanted a location that was within walking distance of town and an easy drive to trails in Acadia. Moseley Cottage Inn was perfect on all accounts. Once back from the park, we left the car in their lot and walked one block from our quiet side street right into the center of Bar Harbor. Pam's recommendations for restaurants were great--in fact, we loved the Side Street Cafe so much, we ate two dinners there! The Precipice Room on the 3rd floor was one of the largest rooms in a B & B that we've ever seen! Everything was clean, comfortable and convenient. Coffee, tea and cookies were always available in the lobby, and the full breakfasts held us over until dinner. We loved that we could each choose our own hot entree, accompanied by fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade granola, pastries and breads. I have never written a review for a property, but our experience at Moseley Cottage Inn was so enjoyable, I felt an obligation to let others know about it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Precipice Room on the 3rd floor. Very quiet and sunny, with more than enough space fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Maxine859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel. We stayed in the motel section and were very happy with our choice. The motel is like an older motel with outside entrance and a real key, which is different from the modern hotels, but the room was clean, comfortable and everything we needed for our stay. We felt very safe in the room and walking all around the area. We were traveling to several places in Maine and Canada during the week, so we only stayed for two nights. When we checked in, the lady was surprised we were staying such a short period of time. I wish we had stayed for several more days as Bar Harbor was our favorite part of the trip. The Moseley is very convenient. It is just a short walk from the property to the center of Bar Harbor. Be sure to speak to the hostess when you check in about the different activities you want to do there. We got some great advice. They even loaned us a guided tour CD for Acadia National Park, which you need to be sure to do while there. We loved our stay!

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room in the motel, which was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KentAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Mosley Cottage Inn. It was so nice to find a B&B that had rooms with more than one bed. If you are traveling with kids, a husband who snores, or a friend you don't want to share a bed with, a B&B is usually not an option because they most often have only a queen or king bed. Our room on the main floor in the old library was incredible....lots of space, huge bathroom, and fantastic private porch. Visiting with other guests over morning coffee and breakfast was so relaxing. On my bucket list is another stay at this great property with nothing to do but enjoy the porch swing!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wildcat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Property: Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing