We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous B&B in the heart of Bar Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2008

It's really hard to find a B&B with two separate beds, and when traveling with your brother this is a must! We came across the Precipice room at the Moseley, and are glad we did! The room was huge, the breakfast was great, and the owners are super nice (as are their pooches---don't worry, they stayed in the office and I approached them). They even accommodated a special food request for us, and fixed the only problem that we had very quickly. The location was also great: a little side street right off the main drag so it was quiet yet a very short walk from all of the shops and restaurants.

The only cons I can think of are that the tv was a bit small for the room (though that means the room was too big for the tv!) and I wish the room had tissue boxes (horray for allergy season), but that's really it.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hotohorinomiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2008

Moseley is just off the beaten track but close enough to Bar Harbor for easy walking anywhere including the Shore Walk. I has classic Maine architecture and is most inviting. We stayed in one of the accessory units which was clean, neat, and comfortable but by no means ostentatious. The staff was excellent. Don't expect elegance but do look forward to a lovely place to stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Arenaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

This place is wonderful, great staff and breakfasts! You can walk to all of the shops/restaurants in Bar Harbor, they're all within a few blocks. We stayed in the Beehive room and you can see the bay from your room! Acadia is just a short drive. We stayed here with our 2 year old and she was just as welcomed as we were, which can be difficult in a bed and breakfast. I would recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lectra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Town Motel portion of the property in mid-September. We booked 3 nights and ended up staying 4 because of the fabulous location and rate couldn't be beat. One block from downtown, 2 blocks from Cafe This Way (the best breakfasts ever), a 5-minute drive to Acadia (the only time we needed our car), and the street they are on is quiet.

The rooms are a bit outdated (wood paneling all around) and the beds were very firm, but they were super clean. We stayed in room 6 on the second floor due to previous reviews mentioning the first floor rooms being a bit run down.

We were torn between staying here and the Bar Harbor Motel, but the Town Motel turned out to be a much better location (Bar Harbor Motel is on busy Route 3 on your way into town, and you'd still need a shuttle or car to get downtown...but they are closer to Acadia).

We'll definitely book our next Bar Harbor stay at the Town Motel or Moseley Cottage (if we feel like splurging a little more) and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Stayed 4 nights September 2008
New Owners from April 2008, so earlier reports may not apply.
Location: Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor. Central to town but also very quiet-effectively in a no through road. Though ‘motel’ appears in the name don’t let this put you off, it is not what one usually thinks of as a motel. Very good for getting about Mount Desert Island.
Welcome very warm and friendly; coffee / tea + cookies available on help-yourself basis. Owner and other staff provided very helpful information about the town facilities, places to walk and visit as well as places to eat, from the better basic level to ‘good dining’ locations.
Four of us had two rooms, Nos. 4 and 10, both ground floor in the ‘motel’ for four nights. No. 10 is large and spacious, with one queen (British: King-size) bed, chairs and a 3-seat sofa. There is no other room above it. Not surprisingly, a higher rate is charged than for the other ‘motel’ rooms. Nos. 1-4 have rooms 5-8 above them (no No. 9). No. 4 has two double-beds and correspondingly less floor space. Rooms had refrigerators-very useful.
There are tables and chairs outside on a lawn under pleasant trees for relaxation, as well as the main house verandah.
Everything is very clean. Room staff very pleasant and cheerful. There is an option to take breakfast in the Inn ($10) for which notice is required the previous evening. We were not organized enough to use this arrangement.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bittern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Great place to stay in Bar Harbor. My wife and I visit Bar Harbor for a week every other year. Only one day in Bar Harbor - the rest of the week in a rented cottage. So we always look for a simple place in Bar Harbor for the one extra day. Moseley Cottage and Town Motel was a perfect choice. Nice clean room in a convenient place. And the owners are so nice!! We look forward to coming back in a couple of years.

Jack

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 427mamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed 5 nights at the Town Motel portion of the property (next to the Moseley Cottage Inn). The Motel is simple, but well maintained and clean. You can go next door to the Inn for coffee, tea and cookies. A big plus was that the room had a refrigerator, which was perfect for planning lunches for our hikes in Acadia. The property has a pretty front garden area with outdoor seating. It's in a great location for walking along the shore path, or to the shops and restaurants in Bar Harbor. It's an easy drive to get into Acadia and if you opt to use the Acadia Shuttle Bus system, it's only about a 3 minute walk from the Motel to get the bus. Our only disappointment was that the AAA rate was not honored at this time of year. All in all, the Motel was a great place in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HikeUSAlParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £153 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing