We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Convenient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington
1 review
“Charming and Convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

When we come back to Bar Harbor this is where we'll stay. The room was charming yet very comfortable and the breakfast was positively delicious! We couldn't have asked for a better location being right around the corner from all the restaurants and shops, and the entrance to Acadia National Park was also very close. I booked back in early May and almost all the rooms were already reserved - now I understand why! Excellent stay and very friendly staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awynn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    212
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
280
479
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was my family's first visit to Bar Harbor. I chose this Inn/Hotel because of the Tripadvisor.com reviews. We were completely pleased! The owners and staff were very friendly, room #5 in the motel part was very comfortable and roomy. We liked that there were windows in the front and back of the room for cross ventilation in order to enjoy the cool Maine evenings/nights, the beds were super comfortable, the bath towels were thick and fluffy, the refrigerator, Keurig, and daily supply of bottled water in the room were a very nice plus! Our daughter enjoyed the hammock seat in the gazebo.

It is very conveniently located in the heart of Bar Harbor on a quiet side street. We would definitely recommend this inn/hotel for anyone and will definitely stay here again, if we return to the area.

Room Tip: Room #5 in the motel was upstairs on the end and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaMB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night the first week of June. We were greater by Mary who was so friendly. She took us right to our room. It was on the third floor, room #8 It was just as described on the website. The bed was so comfortable. Although it was a little warm, due to the heat wave they were having, I'm sure once they get the a/c hooked up, it will cool right down. The breakfast the next morning was so good with scones, fruit and eggs cooked to order. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: room #8 is a stair climb, but you end up in the trees and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algodones, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great bed and breakfast for a taste of Gilded Age cottage life with an excellent central location for exploring the town within a short walking distance to everything and our home base for exploring Acadia National Park. The staff were friendly and engaging and provided great information on local life and recommendations on dining and activities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed 4 Nights In the Motel. Very Very Clean, comfortable and quite! What a value for such great accomadations. The only negative in # 10 and really not so much; was the hieght of the shower, had to do a little limbo to rinse my hair & the A/c wasn't that cool, but loved the room and I would stay in it again. We also stayed in #1 Shower hieght was normal the room great just a little smaller but you could hear walking upstairs. again I would stay again "no problem" Location is all with in walking distance to Great shopping, the harbor and Fabulous Food...Thanks so for A Wonderful and affordable getaway!!!!!!! Love Bar Harbor "BEAUTIFUL"

Room Tip: Loved # 10 Quite!!! no one above you or to the side & its bigger and has a couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbs603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moseleysays, Owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.We are replacing the shower head today and we are replacing all of the air conditioners in the Motel tomorrow .Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay with us.Looking forward to your next visit.
Cheers,
Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were looking for New England charm and found it here. The owners and staff made us feel welcome in so many ways. After just a few days, they felt like friends -- so much so that I took a photo of Pam and their sweet dog Griff on the front porch of the Inn to remember them when we look back on our Bar Harbor experience.
I was traveling with my elderly mom who uses a walker so we opted for a first floor room in the Town Motel adjacent to the main house. (The many stairs of the Cottage Inn posed too much of a challenge for her to negotiate.) In no way did this diminish the personalized service and warm hospitality we received. As first-timers to the area, we greatly appreciated the helpful recommendations and local knowledge of the owners and staff, which helped us make the most of our time in Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
As others have noted, the location is ideal. It's in the heart of Bar Harbor, close to everything, but on a quiet side street that feels more like a beautiful historic New England neighborhood than downtown. The room was spotless, very comfortable, and nicely appointed -- including a mini-fridge and Keurig coffee maker -- and the wifi was fast and reliable (even in the furthest room from the main Inn).
I look forward to staying here again on a future trip and will recommend it to anyone I know who's planning a trip to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor of the Town Motel in room #4, on the end furthest from the main house. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explore961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed two nights in the Jordan Pond room. Though the bathroom was small (to be expected in a New England bed and breakfast) the overall accomodations were excellent. Owner was very friendly and helpful in knowing what to do at Acadia National Park and in Bar Harbor. Additionally, this Bed and Breakfast is in a wonderful location with easy walking to downtown and a very short drive to Acadia national park.

Room Tip: Use their website to evaluate the rooms. From what we saw, this place has a wide variety of rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBW1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Property: Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing