We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quimby House Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
US$245
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,082)
Filter reviews
1,082 results
Traveller rating
816
222
31
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
222
31
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesbubbles roomb bnorumbega roomquiet side streeteden roomprivate porchjordan pondbaked goodsthird floorwithin walking distanceshore walkbreakfast was deliciousperfect locationthe main dragbed and breakfastshops and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 1,082 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We picked this place based on the tripadvisor ranking as the second best choice in Bar Harbor. It does not deserve that rank based on the motel, maybe the Inn itself is spectacular. The motel room was extremely small. The one chair (upholstered) was shoved up against the end of one of the beds and was well worn. On the plus side, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Asking $15.00 per person for breakfast on top of $130.00 room charge is insulting. I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the motel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldsailor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Only a one-night stop over but the room in the attached motel of Moseley Cottage Inn was just what we needed. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and right in Bar Harbor, it provided us what we needed. The owners were very helpful suggesting options for activities and eats. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room, right on the street side, was very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebabycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our reservation, made 8 weeks in advance, was not honored unless we would pay a higher rate. I spoke to a man in May who identified himself as the proprietor when our reservation was made. The reservation was made after a lengthy discussion due to the fact that a female employee who had taken our previous call had quoted us a significantly lower rate. We agreed to pay a higher rate, our credit card was charged and we received an email confirmation from the inn. A few weeks ago we received an email telling us that they were looking forward to our upcoming arrival. Just days before check-in we received a call from a man who said he is the manager. It is most distressing to be in the middle of a three week journey and be told that they will not honor our reservation unless we agree to pay a higher rate. This is dishonest and likely illegal. The manager was extremely rude and threatening. He gave us no choice but to cancel our reservation unless we paid a higher rate regardless of the fact that we have a printed confirmation and our credit card has been charged. We chose to let them cancel our reservation since all indications are that this is definitely a place NOT to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
9  Thank Partyoffive_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moseleysays, Owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

I am very sorry this situation occurred.Your mother called and got very confused over the rates.She called back again and was told she had misunderstood and was given the accurate rates. She was very pushy and rude and hung up on me. I thought she would have looked elsewhere but she called back at night and pressured my desk help into saying I had quoted such rates and that he SHOULD honor it. After I found out that my desk help was manipulated I was very upset.Quite honestly I assumed she went elsewhere.In over twenty seven years as successful business owners we have met some of the kindest most wonderful people in the world, and we truly enjoy providing our guests with a relaxing , pleasurable experience equal to the beauty of nature surrounding us.The prices are readily available on line to avoid any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the "motel" part of the Moseley June 10-14. The room was like the old motor-hotel rooms with an outside door. We stayed on the 2nd (top) floor.

Good:
- Location! A very short walk to the Bar Harbor shops and restaurants (and they all serve good, local craft beer).
- Quiet (thanks to our fellow hotelers) and comfy bed (two queens)
- Price
- Easy access to Acadia Natl Park

Not so good:
- Lamp over bed was hard to turn on/off; dresser drawer was broken (we forgot to complain about either)
- Lugging you bags up to the 2nd floor; then back down
- Parking could be an issue as they are narrow and not much room, but it's free
- No breakfast included ($15 at the "Cottage"; which we did not do)

Food suggestions:
- Blaze (around the corner on Main) - wood grilled lobster

Room Tip: 2nd floor if staying at the "motel" since it is likely quieter (but no elevator).
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TN-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When we come back to Bar Harbor this is where we'll stay. The room was charming yet very comfortable and the breakfast was positively delicious! We couldn't have asked for a better location being right around the corner from all the restaurants and shops, and the entrance to Acadia National Park was also very close. I booked back in early May and almost all the rooms were already reserved - now I understand why! Excellent stay and very friendly staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awynn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews