We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great location a few blocks from the town’s shops and restaurants. We stayed in two rooms in the motel, not the house. The one with the king bed was spacious and also had a couch bed; the one with 2 queen beds was average size. The beds were comfy, the water got hot fast, the wifi was fast. The rooms were quiet; we did not hear our neighbors. The rooms had a refrigerator but they were unplugged so they did not make noise. The rooms had fancy Kreuig coffee makers. The rates were the same or less than the Villager motel half a block away. Pam was very helpfui with suggestions on sights and lent us a map of the park. Our only complaint is that the switch for the light by the bed was too high; one has to get out of bed and stand to reach the switch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d33j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in the B&B part and had the Norumbega room. The room was large enough to accommodate our family of 4 with plenty of space and included a full side-porch. It also had a fireplace that we lit one night. It created a nice ambiance and was just fun for the kids. The staff was friendly and seemed knowledgeable of the area. Being just one block off the main road was convenient to walk to restaurants and shops.

Now the negative...The bathroom has a large window in the door that has a curtain on the OUTSIDE of the door. Since this is the largest room in the house and meant for families, it would be nice if there could be some privacy from the kids who think it's funny to look in at those using the restroom. It was very uncomfortable when trying to get in the shower or use the toilet. A $10 shade on the inside of the door would solve this problem. Also, there is not a lock on the bathroom door. These two things NEED to be fixed and I'd be surprised if they haven't heard these complaints before. One other thing about the bathroom... there isn't much space to place items while trying to put makeup on.

On another note-I expected the food to be homemade for a B&B. You could tell the breads, scones, and cookies had been purchased from the grocery store. Nothing spectacular, but it was nice that they had them out in the evening for a quick snack.

When walking back to the B&B at night, it was dark once you got off the main road. Might be a little scary if you are the nervous sort.

Overall, I'm not disappointed we stayed here. It was nice to try something new and we loved having all the space to spread out. Would I stay here again? Maybe if they fix the bathroom...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank lovepuzzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moseleysays, Owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely review.This is the first time we have heard about the problem with the curtain over the window on the outside of the door.Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will put a shade up today. However we do not have locks on any of our bathroom doors.This is a home.On another note we are sorry you thought we had baked goods from a grocery store.We have a full breakfast menu that you can order from.Our baked goods are homemade daily and most people realize that.We have warm fresh blueberry scones made from scratch everyday.We have a variety of fresh fruit tarts and freshly baked muffins,quick breads,cinnamon rolls, quiches and or coffee cakes.Our granola is homemade and served with fresh fruit and yogurt. Our baker Mary has been with us for 7 years. She is a delightful lady and is a true asset to our business. She has given her recipes out to many.We hope you come back and enjoy our Inn again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed two nights at this charming inn/motel. It is less than a block from the main street in Bar Harbor so within walking distance of many great restaurants.
Our room was immaculate, and the owners were charming and helpful.
We will recommend this place to all of our friends and relatives who plan on visiting this great part of Maine.

Room Tip: If you prefer to avoid stairs, choose one of the motel rooms adjacent to the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armyveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great visit. A great location to explore Bar Harbor from..on foot!!! Hosts gave us great restaurant recommendations And unit was well appointed. we stayed in the motel side and although breakfast was not in included we took a nice walk to Jordan's and ate there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were looking for a stopover between Acadia National Park and New York. This was ideal in distance and time. Also situated in a village away from the main route it gave us the opportunity to relax completely. We were given a warm welcome in this lovely house and although recommendation for evening meal were tricky as it was Friday night at the start of school holidays, we enjoyed our visit to the local 'theme park' for some fast food.

Breakfast was excellent and sufficient to last us until we reached the city.

Traffic bad round the outer ring road but better than trying to get through Boston

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silver_but_active
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the 3rd year I have stayed at the Moseley Cottage Inn while on a business trip. Love this inn and the location. Since I was on business, I reserved the Dorr single room which is a small, single room with a private bath across the hall. Inn is quiet and just a really nice place to stay. So convenient to town so you can just park the car and walk. I also have enjoyed running the shore path and tacking on additional mileage to get in a 5K run. Can't beat the shore path.....just beautiful. I love Geddy's pub but this year I went to Reel Pizza (movie and dinner) on the suggestion of a local. Great pizza and beer while enjoying a movie. Hope to come back to stay on my next pleasure trip to Bar Harbor.

Wish I could comment on breakfast but my work required me to leave too early to enjoy. But in the afternoon upon arrival they have coffee and some type of dessert (cookies) available to enjoy.

Room Tip: If traveling alone and on a budget, the Dorr room is just fine. Comfortable bed, TV, frig and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Myself, wife and 23 month old daughter stayed here June 18-21. We absolutely loved it. I have been to Bar Harbor before and chose this place because of the elimination of the parking hassles in town. Easy walk to everything in town. Breakfast served 8-10 AM Wed thru Sat and was great. Plenty of options for all of us. We stayed in the Sargent Room and it was awesome and very roomy. No problems having a toddler with us at all. Afternoon cookies were a hit for all of us, especially my daughter. Wi-Fi access/connection at the place was great too. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utex99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £158 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing