We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late Night in Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quimby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quimby House Inn
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Late Night in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was looking for a room stay in for one night and happened upon the Quimby House and i was very happy I didi. Although, my stay was brief it was memorable due to the fine service of the front desk attendant Nick. He told me they had availability and when I did not show up in time to personally receive my key he made arrangements so that I was not left out in the warm August night. I was very appreciative of his forethought and the great recommendation of Two Cats for breakfast. All in all a very memorable evening and morning in Bar Harbor. I look forward to spending more time there the next time I am in Maine!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you found us and delighted to hear that you will stay again if you make it back to the area. Bar Harbor is certainly a wonderful place to visit and explore; you just need at lease a few days to see even a sliver of the beauty. We do hope to see you again. Have a wonderful autumn and winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    91
    40
    7
    7
See reviews for
77
156
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

husband/wife team plus Nick were fabulous people to deal with, booked same day and arrived to a large room for the five of us (#209 - largest sofa bed room we have stayed in for years). About 6 blocks from heart of town, so ideal location (just far enough away to be quiet, but very close walking, with "whole foods" type market/fruit smoothie shop next door, large chain grocery store 2 blocks away, all restaurants/shops of town within easy walk). First visit to Bar Harbor and will call Quimby Inn home for all future visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great and informative review; this will be quite helpful for travelers that have not been to the area. You were pleasant beginning with our first phone conversation and we very much enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. We do hope we will see you again when you have time for another quick adventure to Maine. Have a wonderful fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed a weekend here with a groupon and were very happy. We stayed on the first floor and our room was very quiet. It was clean with a very comfortable bed. My girlfriend got a massage while we were there (one of the owners is a masseuse) and loved it. They don't serve food at the Inn (they do have coffee), but they are on a main street. There's a grocery store across the street and just down the street is one of the best breakfast places we've ever been to. We went to 2 Cats for breakfast both mornings. We also had a great dinner at Fathom which was also walking distance from the inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
It was so nice to see you both again. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave a review; you had a couple of great recommendations for restaurants and appreciates what you had to say about the Inn. We will be offering another Groupon in October so we do hope to see you again. It is always wonderful to see a familiar and friendly face. You both take care and have a wonderful winter. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were 1 couple of four that stayed at Quimby House. We did not pick the Inn. One of the others in our group made the reservations. What a quaint hotel with a lot of character. The couple that own it were the greatest folks and were very friendly and helpful. We were able to park our motorcycles in their parking lot in the back and felt they were very safe left there. The location to downtown Bar Harbor was very good, only four blocks from Main St. and the waterfront. The area of the Inn on Cottage is near the end of the street and very quiet. The only thing we could have different was there is no elevator. This was not a real problem. We had a beautiful quiet room on the 3rd floor with a very nice bathroom and mini fridge. Coffee was made available from 6 am to close. A family owned business with 2 beautiful little girls.

Room Tip: Rooms 102, 210 and 312 were really nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us at the Inn; we just wish you could have stayed longer. If you come back to see us, we will be sure to reserve you a room on the first or second floor, and we are always happy to help you with your bags. The girls enjoyed you just as much as we did. Thank you for the pictures and for taking the time to leave a review. Enjoy your travels and your friends. We will keep you in our thoughts. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was my husband's and mine first visit to Bar Harbor. Picked Quimby House Inn, because the price was right and I thought it was in a good location. I was right, the location could not have been better. We parked the car in their off street parking, a big plus, and could walk to the center of town and the waterfront. Staff was very friendly, and we shared many good laughs with Nick. The room did not include breakfast, which was ok, since they provided a mini fridge in the room and the supermarket was a block away. We stayed in the only room that had only a shower and no bathtub. No problem. The only issue we have is that they should have replaced the toilet seat. It was so worn down to the wood in the back. Not what you expect to see in a place like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so very much for the review and for bringing to our attention that the toilet seat needed to be replaced. We have taken care of the issue and installed a new toilet seat. We do apologize. We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Bar Harbor and to the Quimby House Inn and do hope you will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our first visit to Bar Harbor and we did not realize that it was such a tourist hot spot with everything, shops, bars, and restaurants one after another within a few blocks of each other. Cottage street is the part of that action and the Quimby House is on Cottage just a few blocks from all of the action.
We were walking distance to everything, but it was quiet in our room.
We loved the inn. The rooms are very large, decorated nicely with 10' ceilings.
Very clean and interesting place. I would repeat and recommend for anyone wanting to be in the tourist area of Bar Harbor.
Keep in mind that they do not have elevators in case stairs are an issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tmccamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are delighted that you loved the Inn. We certainly hope that you enjoyed the are. Bar Harbor is certainly a tourist destination, although much different in July and August than September and October. If you decide to plan another trip to our quaint little town, please feel free to call and we will answer any questions. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have stayed here twice now. The location of the Inn is unbeatable. It's at the end of Cottage so it's quiet but still within walking distance to restaurants, shops and the harbor. No need to worry about parking, esp on 4th of July weekend! Super close to a super market and handy to have a mini-fridge in the room. Friendly staff. No issues w/ wireless signals. The only reason giving a 3 star is because it's a no-frills place (on the other hand, it really helped us relax and disconnect from the grid) and the room we stayed at could use another chair - there was only 1 chair in the room so 1 person had to sit on the bed. Very bright in the morning when the sun comes out....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gigapoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We are so happy that you decided to stay with us again and do hope you will consider to stay with us in the future. I do apologize about the curtains. I have ordered new blackout curtains for Room 211, the last of our rooms that does not have black out curtains. This will be the first of my winter projects. I do appreciate you mentioning this. The additional information you provided is quite helpful to people traveling to the area and we so appreciate your feedback. Have a safe and happy winter. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quimby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Property: Quimby House Inn
Address: 109 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor
Quimby House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing