We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great evening fun in bar harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ImprovAcadia

ImprovAcadia
Ranked #1 of 3 Fun & Games in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We offer fully improvised comedy shows six to seven nights a week during the season. We feature a cast of professional improvisers from Chicago and Maine. See the performers create a hilarious show using only your suggestions and their quick wits! Call to get show times and to make a reservation. Full bar, light snacks and desserts available. First show of every night is family friendly. Under 21 must be accompanied by an adult.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great evening fun in bar harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

A great night out for our family. My kids 12 & 16 enjoyed as much as we did. Small setting makes for great laughs and entertainment.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomascotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    44
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My cheeks hurt from laughing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

ImprovAcadia on opening night for the 2014 season was so much fun! The performers were very quick witted and musically inclined! They rolled with every punch that the audience swung at them. Every night is a different performance, because of the audience participation. It is a very intimate setting, so you definitely need to make reservations. Also, you'll be seated with others in attendance if you are just a couple! Take a group with you! The 8:00 o'clock show was truly family friendly, and I'm particular about that!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great little improv show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you liked the TV show "Whose Line is ti Anyway", you have got to take the time to see the show here.
We visited here on a trip to Bar Harbor in early October. We only came to know about the it by seeing the poster in the doorway while strolling Cottage St. We made reservations by phone and returned that night. The show,all improvised, was hilarious! I laughed my butt off, had tears in my eyes.
We had seen an improv show in another city, and this was a step above that. Apparently the club partners with Second City out of Chicago. This would explain the exceptional talent. Definitely a great way to spend your evening in Bar Harbor.
They open for the season Memorial Weekend, and close in mid-October.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbqbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaroldEllsworth, Owner at ImprovAcadia, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi bbqbilly,

We're so glad that you enjoyed our show and are grateful for your kind comments.
I do want to clarify our relationship with The Second City. While Jen and I (the owners) and many of our actors work and have worked for The Second City, we're an independent theater and are not partners with that legendary institution.

Thanks again for the great review and hope we see you again at ImprovAcadia.

Jen and Larrance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great fun for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Good for singles, couples, or families. The early show is strictly clean. Never the same show twice, and we've been here seven times over the years.

Helpful?
Thank ellenh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Great laughs in a really nice atmosphere. Capped off a long day of outdoor activities with a smile. Intimate setting, clean, good service, fun crew. About a hour and a half show with a brief intermission. Wouldn't change a thing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ImprovAcadia also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to ImprovAcadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing