We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfied ...”
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holland Inn
Ranked #6 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very satisfied ...”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Holland Inn and were very glad we did. We had chosen the Beech Cliff room which had an extra sitting room and plenty of space - good for a longer visit. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. Evin is a terrific proprietor - she is available, knowledgeable of the area and an exceptional cook. The Inn is well situated making walking to most of Bar Harbor quite easy. We also headed to Acadia and Evin was knowledgeable of the park and its various trails too. A great trip and a B&B we would certainly recommend and happily return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    62
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
428
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tubac, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were able to book a room here at the last minute. Everything was perfect. The room was cozy, the breakfast was the BEST (delicious and healthy and accommodated everyone's special needs) and we felt very welcome. Evin is gracious and helpful and with her guidance we got the most out of our short time in Bar Harbor. The location is great; far enough from the noise but close enough to walk. The Inn is located close to a health food store and a laundromat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our first time to Bar Harbor as well as our first time staying at a B&B. We were greeted by Evin with a warm smile and friendly personality. She was great with information and suggested activities to do daily at breakfast. The room was spacious (Caddillac) and the very clean. We were impressed with the food and comfort of the inn. It was a short walk to downtown Bar Harbor and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed there mid July for 2 nights. A lovely bed and breakfast. The Valley Cove room we stayed in was very large and relaxing. The breakfasts were wonderful! Nice to visit with other travelers and have a great homemade healthy breakfast. Erin is the perfect hostess always making sure you are having a good time and extremely knowledgeable about all the locations to see. She even loaned us an audio cd to listen to as we made our way around Arcadia. It is so convenient to walk downtown or over to Bar Harbor Island. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend staying here. We would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at the Holland Inn last summer and had such a great experience we had to return this summer. Our Ship Harbor room in the Quiet Side building was spacious, with a king bed and full seating area (complete with recliner!). The only downside is that the air conditioning is fairly loud - audible even with earplugs. The staff, Milena and Georgi, do a genuinely terrific job tidying the room and bath (also spacious) daily, but the piece de resistance is, hands down, Evin's breakfasts. Great variety and just plain delicious. We bought her cookbook just to try to replicate our faves, which include her to-die-for blueberry pancakes. Evin cooks healthfully, not adding unnecessary sugar, etc., and her finished plates are photo-op worthy. She is a gracious, funny, very helpful innkeeper, and we will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We prefer having a seating area, and Ship Harbor has a very comfy one (not all rooms do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjrk1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Holland Inn was the perfect place. Our room was immaculate, comfy and very welcoming. The breakfasts were healthy and delicious and her suggestions for dinner and activities around the area were greatly appreciated. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the Holland Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed a total of 5 nights in the inn. Evin is a wonderful host and has a sincere interest in making your Bar Harbor visit perfect. Breakfast is very well done and Evin is happy to adjust breakfast to meet your preferences. All the breakfasts we had were very tasty, nicely presented and healthy. We stayed in two different rooms and both were large, nicely deecorated and clean. The Inn is on a side street and just a few minutes walk to restaurants and shopping. Evin is always willing to answer questions and offer suggestions for activities, dining or shopping. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 30 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Property: Holland Inn
Address: 35 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing