We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this B&B”
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holland Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this B&B”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The location is great, a short walk to town. Evin is a charming and witty host and makes an excellent breakfast, even accommodated a gluten-free diet. She also had a wealth of information to share on Acadia. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The quiet side cottage was very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaniNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    62
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
453
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Holland Inn met all my needs in Bar Harbor. Close enough to town yet far enough to be quiet. Evin makes delicious and inventive breakfasts, is an attentive and helpful hostess and runs an orderly and welcoming B & B

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbiM842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

First, great location. Felt homey and comfy. Evin is super knowledgable and fun. She's got a great personality and serves up a yummy breakfast. It was out first time and I'd come back for sure! We had a blast touring Acadia and kayaking in bar harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbartlett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here in August for 2 nights. Perfect location. Off the main noisy streets. Stayed in the new Cadillac room. Perfect size, plenty of room. Evin was super nice as was her staff. She cooks a great breakfast. Offers plenty of ideas on what to do. One of the nicest B&B's we have stayed in. Would most definitely stay here again if we come back to this beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a great stay at the Holland Inn over Labor Day weekend. Can't say enough good things about the innkeeper, Evin. Take advantage of her knowledge of the area. She was very helpful with restaurants, tours etc. Breakfasts were wonderful - always creative.

I would recommend the Ship Harbor room where we stayed. Second floor of back building - very quiet and nice comfortable king size bed with a small sitting room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Holland Inn for three nights in August. There are not that many big name hotels in the area, so your best bet would be stay at a B&B. Evin, the owner and innkeeper, was very welcoming. When we checked in, she gave us the run down of the area, where to go, how to get there etc...Just enough information to get us started. We stayed in the Pretty Marsh room which is located away from the main house, in a separate cottage in the back. The room was clean and perfect for two people - it had a private bath, outdoor sitting area, tv, mini fridge, sofa and king bed. The location is walking distance to town and there is a supermarket across the street. Breakfast was delicious and can be modified depending on what you like/don't like. I highly recommend staying at the Holland Inn if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

In mid-July we stayed at the Holland Inn for the seventh summer in a row. We spent 9 days there this year. We have reviewed the Inn on previous stays but a new review seems appropriate to say again what a great place it is. In all ways it's hard to imagine a better place to stay, even for an extended time period. The Holland Inn is in a great location -- close to everything (including a grocery store, coin-operated laundry, as well as all the downtown shops and restaurants). The rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean. And, the big extra -- the totally amazing breakfasts. Evin, the owner and innkeeper, is a great cook as well as being an expert on the area and a delightful person. She is warm and friendly and always willing to offer suggestions and answer questions. Evin was truly born to be an innkeeper. She prepares a delicious breakfast every morning with great variety and creativity. The breakfasts are gourmet quality. The things that brought us to the Holland Inn in the first place were the availability of rooms with king-size beds and the small tables in the breakfast room (not one large dining room table where everyone eats together). These things still bring us back but many other great things have been added to the list of what we like about this place. Here are just a few: some rooms are larger and have sitting areas, in-room refrigerators and microwaves in some rooms, TVs, DVD players, coffee pots in the rooms and AC. Add all those things to the fact that it's super clean, comfortable and has awesome food. If any of these items are important to you, or if the lack of any of these has kept you from staying in a B&B in the past, you should definitely check out the Holland Inn. It is a wonderful place and we look forward to returning next summer and for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoFLTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Property: Holland Inn
Address: 35 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing