We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holland Inn
Ranked #6 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Holland Inn. A beautiful room with a very comfortable bed and the best breakfasts we have ever had! The blueberry pancakes were absolutely incredible! Ideally placed with just a short walk into town. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarianJB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    62
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
439
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Everything was perfect: from rooms, to breakfast, to all the personalized information the hostess gave to us. The location is great, mid-center, but not in the busy part. We had a wonderfull, very relaxing week.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaraJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have stayed at the Holland Inn over a dozen times in the past 9 years. A few times were with a girlfriend, but many times were solo. I tried several B&B's in Bar Harbor the first 2 years that I visited, then discovered the Holland Inn in 2004. Evin makes everyone feel at home, and does her best to help you relax. Each room has its own feel and plenty of privacy. The inn is located on a quiet street, so it is eacy to fall asleep at night. All the breakfasts are home cooked, with a nice variety if you stay for several days to a week. Evin will accomodate any dietary restrictions. She has a great knowledge of where to visit on the island for sightseeing, hiking, to eat, walk and shop. Many times I have split my 3-5 day stay in different rooms in her inn. Evin and her staff will gladly move your belongings from the old room to the new room during the day and I have never had a problem. I only wish that I could locate a "Holland Inn" in Vermont and New Hampshire to stay at. The inn is a 5-10 minute walk to town and the harbor, and 2 minutes to the supermarket.

Room Tip: If you stay at rooms in the main house, you will not have to walk across the back lawn on a wet or c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravelerDB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We traveled with another couple through the New England states in October, 2013 during the government shutdown. We were fortunate to have picked the Holland Inn for our 3 night stay not only because of the comfortable lodging, the convenient location, the fantastic breakfasts, but also because of the wealth of information about the area that Evin was able to provide. As busy as she was, Evin took the time to sit down with us and find out what we were interested in seeing and doing. Evin was able to give us tips specific to our interests on trails to hike or bike, maps , places to eat, small towns to see in the area, and how the shutdown had affected access to Acadia National Park. If we ever make it back to Bar Harbor we will be staying at the Holland Inn and I highly recommend the Holland Inn to anyone traveling around the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Duffer724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Visited the Holland Inn in October. Food was delicious, and location was great. Evin was unbelievably energetic and helpful with her recommendations. Would definitely recommend. Will stay here again for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Breakfast was well done, Erin was so knowledgeable about the area that we had a really great time. Would chose to go there again.The room was rather small but we had a wonderful time.
The place is close to Bar harbor and the places she recommended to eat were well worth the time to wait for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kheemalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield CT
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Holland Inn. We love the rooms in the "back" cottage and the breakfasts are unique and delicious!! As mentioned by others, the location is terrific because you can walk to the restaurants and shops from there plus there is an off-street parking lot.

Room Tip: We like the privacy of the rooms in the building "out back".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 66birchpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#29 of 30 in Bar Harbor
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Property: Holland Inn
Address: 35 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing