We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Inn and Innkeeper in Bar Harbor”
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holland Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Inn and Innkeeper in Bar Harbor”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I booked an autumn visit to Bar Harbor in 2013 and stayed at Holland Inn. Our room was nice, clean and updated, the food FABULOUS and the innkeeper was a wonderful resource of information - where to eat, what to see, what to do. Within walking distance of downtown, we appreciated not having to take our car out to get dinner in the evening. I highly recommend Holland Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    62
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
448
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We loved the room and location of the Holland Inn. The breakfasts were fabulous. We could easily walk downtown and got lots of good tips about sight seeing. The room was very comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Swimmom1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Yishay, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Holland Inn for 2 nights in mid Oct. 13. The Inn and the Inn keeper were wonderful. Our room was on the first floor of the Inn, and it was clean, roomy and comfortable.The inn keeper provided the very good breakfasts with very useful help and advice on things to do and activities on Mt. Desert Island. We would highly recommend the Holland Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alonso81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were up for a weekend wedding, and extended our stay with the Holland Inn. Our room was pleasant, but next time i will reserve a room with a porch or balcony, as the outdoors is spectacular to enjoy a sunset.

Room Tip: Pick one with access to the outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nankirlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lot Valley, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

It's almost 6 months since our stay, but it remains one of the classiest, complete B&Bs we have ever stayed in. Admittedly, Parkman was a new addition to ever-expanding Holland Inn, but I gather all of the accommodations are top notch. It may have been the most expensive place on our circular Canada - Maine - Canada trip, but it was also the best value for money. I cannot list everything in the room, but if you are able to find anything missing, you only needed to ask. Lots of other reviewers have already praised the breakfast and the owner's contagious enthusiasm, so I can only concur. The location, just a stone's throw from the center, means the only time you need to get into your car is to explore the rest of this amazing little island. Actually, you don't even need to drive yourself as there is a comprehensive bus service that covers the island. The only downside is that special places tend to book up quickly, and understandably Bar Harbor is very, very popular.

Room Tip: Parkman for us again next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yogibare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just make sure you don't get the Bubble room, atleast I think that's what it was called. It was tiny.
The lady that owned the place was great though. She moved us to a larger room as soon as it was available. The breakfasts she put out were fantastic. One of the best ever.
Its walking distance from town, clean, convenient... I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank atls7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Went here for a week. Was a fantastic place to stay. The owner is the best! She'll help you discover things in Bar Harbor and the surrounding areas.

It was our first trip there and I was worried that it wasn't on the water. After being there, I'm glad we were somewhere secluded! It's also just a short walk to everything and still has easy access to road out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank benboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Property: Holland Inn
Address: 35 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing