We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Motel & Great Value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highbrook Motel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Garden Grove, California
1 review
“Wonderful Motel & Great Value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The motel met all my expectations. It was quaint, the room was larger than expected, the bed and pillows were excellent, the rooms clean and the service was exceptional. Loved the screen door so that you could leave your door open and enjoy the breeze. We were 2 females on a girls week away and felt safe and oh so comfortable at the Highbrook Motel. We were in Bar Harbor to enjoy the lovely little village and Acadia National Park. Great location for our purpose and just a short 1/2 mile walk to one of the carriage roads in Acadia NP. Would definitely stay again and recommend to all my friends and family.

Its a bit of a long walk into the center of Bar Harbor but if you don't have a car there is a great local free shuttle that will get you into town, into Acadia NP and to all other little villages near Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decrsni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    169
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
116
464
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Two senior couples spent three nights here in mid-September 2013. I had used tripadvisor reviews to decide that after upscale B&B experiences in Cape Cod and Kennebunkport a moderately priced motel would be the right answer for what I expected to be a more rustic experience on Mount Desert Island. We could not have been happier.

The Highbrook is run by a family that has owned it for more than 30 years. They have certainly perfected their product. I learned that the original building was built in the 50s while the section we stayed in (further up Highbrook Rd, but within a comfortable walk of the morning breakfast) dates to the 60s. The room decor was somewhat dated but super clean. We slept well (most important.)

Wi-fi worked fine.

It's located a long-walk distance from downtown but is served by regular bus shuttle. We had an auto so that was not a problem.

I accidentally left a personal item behind, called them that evening from Danbury to learn they had found it. They shipped it to me within days. Kudos.

Don't know when we'll return to Bar Harbor, but the Highbrook will be our choice for lodging.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveFales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great place to stay while visiting bar harbor. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Very close to town but not within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronx new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

this was my first time in Bar Harbor. The staff really makes you feel at home. The room was large and very clean. I enjoyed sitting on the front porch after a busy day of sightseeing. The bed was so comfortable with those soft large pillows. There is nothing negative you can say about this place. It had every comfort you could want and the town was just minutes by shuttle bus

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Quick fall weekend getaway from WI...This motel was very charming, exceptionally clean and well kept. It was so nice to not stay in a chain hotel, this one had so much awesome character!!! It was a relaxing stay and an excellent weekend in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iforgited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We picked this motel based on the reviews and found them to be spot on. This place was spacious, comfortable, and immaculately clean. The staff was welcoming and helpful and very friendly. While it's a 50s style motel, the furnishings were well maintained and very tasteful. the bed was quite comfortable and appeared to have a newer mattress. The "Get 'n Go" breakfast was really good for this type of establishment and while not full service like the "big boys" it was highly practical and really not bad. It's a fairly long walk (about 3/4 mile) to downtown Bar Harbor but there is a shuttle bus that can bring you back or take you both ways. The stop is immediately adjacent to the property.
We had a great time here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Reminded me of traveling with my parents as kids in the 70's...small, family friendly....exceptionally clean. Location was excellent for getting around the town. Inn keepers were gracious and helpful.
I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel0581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Property: Highbrook Motel
Address: 94 Eden St, Route 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing