We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable hotel. Retro chic!!”
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highbrook Motel
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel. The rooms were spotless and very comfy. The hotel is very 1950's retro in feel but still has fast wifi. The price was cheaper than most in the area. Very centrally located and you could walk to downtown. Staff were friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank winkiebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Room was very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast and helpful desk staff. Right across from boat cruise ramp. Easy to get to Acadia national park. Quiet at night. It had a nice machine, which was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Seamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Staff was outstanding. These were the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed in!! Breakfast choices were excellent. We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend this motel to friends or family. Can't wait to plan another trip to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berliozcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Highbrook Motel is spotlessly clean, well-maintained, and perfectly situated between downtown Bar Harbor and one of the entrances to Acadia National Park. It is the retro experience without all the dirt, discomfort, and wear and tear that one might expect. In fact, it is the opposite. Our room was exceptionally clean, the beds were comfortable and amazingly, there was no sign of wear and tear. Everything is maintained perfectly. We stayed here for 5 nights so that we could enjoy all that the Park had to offer and we grew to appreciate our room and the staff more each day. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanP7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Clean is a key word here. The place was spotless! And while this is an older style facility, it is family owned and they have made every effort to keep it up to date. Our room, which overlooked the main grounds was wonderful. They offer a very nice breakfast that you can bring back to your room and relax. The owners, the Bowden family, are very friendly and helpful too. This motel is located just a few minutes from downtown as well as Acadia National Park. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just outside the main part of town, yet close enough for minimal driving. Also, that much closer to Acadia National Park, one of the main reasons we were in Bar Harbor. This is an older facility, but very well kept. Single story in each of the two properties (one located a little up the hill from the other.) Parking in front of your door, so no one needs to walk in front of your room to get anywhere other than the ice machine. Extra large room, complete with a large dressing area including an extra sink with lots of counter space. Then there is also a full bathroom with another sink. Though the furnishings are dated, the mattress was newer, and this was extremely well-cleaned. The plumbing had been replaced, and the tiles were spotless. The breakfast is what they call "grab and go" which is much less than the normal continental breakfast offered. Because there are refrigerators in the rooms (no microwaves, but a coffee maker), we bought milk at the local grocery store to pour over our own cereal, using the motel's bowls, spoons, and napkins. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the customers were courteous and quiet. A very good 4-day stay for us!

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper building do not face the main highway into town, so might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is so clean,cozy ,and comfortable. They have nice large rooms.If your going to Bar Harbor this is the place to stay.They have a nice little breakfast that you can bring to your room or you can put it in a little box that they supply and take with you which is nice if your going to Acadia Park.They have bagel with cream cheese ,boiled eggs,muffin,yogurt ,juice ;hot chocolate and coffee.So you get your four food group.What i really liked was how clean it was, no dust balls in corners in this place.Everything shines,and looks good.We were there May 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Address: 94 Eden St, Route 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £263 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing