We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highbrook Motel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Who would have thought that an "old-style" motel could be so pleasant. Our room was in the back building and was large and quiet. The bed was the most comfortable ever -- even better than ours at home! Although dated, the room seemed to be newly painted and IMMACULATE. The housekeeper even dusted the fittings on the screen door! Breakfast was adequate. No views, but well-located close to restaurants and the town. A gem.

Room Tip: The upper level is private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce-Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    169
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
116
463
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I found Highbrook Motel on the web and booked three nights there. Price and rating were definite factors in this choice. I have to say that in driving by we would not have stopped there to book a room but are so glad we chose this motel! What a great place to stay. We had a mini-suite in the second building. The room was very quite, very clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. The staff were wonderful - friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided was a very nice surprise. Our next stop was in Portand and we both said how much we missed our mini-suite. We found the location worked well for all we did in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I rated this hotel excellent but excellent for what it is. It is old and it is a motel. But saying that it was very clean and very comfortable. Room was a good size. I enjoyed sitting on the chairs outside on the grass. The view is the road but who cares. Good location. Downtown Bar Harbor was very crowded. So I enjoyed being away from things but still a short driving distance. I would definately stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank janelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located. Very clean. New tv. However, there was no view from our room, (or any on the property), and the wifi was sketchy, disconnecting and reconnecting quite often for no good reason. 1 bar of cell phone coverage (sprint), so we were ok, but the faster speed would have been nice. The bus service to town / the park was ok to poor. I recommend a car instead or walking.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank japharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stated here for 2 nights and found the motel to be great. Yes there are other hotels in the region you would prefer to stay at if money was no object however if this is not the case then the highbrook is highly recommended. The room was immaculate when we arrived and spotlessly clean. It had heaters and aircon, tea and coffee facilities, a fridge and wifi. Everything you need for a successful stay. The breakfast was described as a collect and go and to be honest we did not hold out much hope. However we were surprised the next morning when there were hot sandwiches (muffins filled with egg, cheese and bacon), blueberry muffins, bagels, porridge, fruit, orange juice, tea and coffee. In addition tea and coffee are available from the office throughout the day. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank david_DJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This vintage property is in pristine condition and we got a kick out of staying in a "real motel" again. Location is perfect - close to Bar Harbor and Acadia - and the shuttle bus to town stops at the end of the driveway! Room was large, clean and quiet. Family-run motel, and staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sis63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our first trip to Maine. The owners were very attentive to our needs. the office booked a 2 hr boat tour around bar harbor right at their office. They gave us multiple suggestions of things to do. Very clean & laid back old time motor court motel. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Property: Highbrook Motel
Address: 94 Eden St, Route 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing