We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
Review of Thornhedge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornhedge Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife and I discovered the Thornhedge on a recent trip to Maine and boy were we happy to have found it. Typically we stay in lower quality hotels/motels in the Ellsworth area however this time we really wanted to do the Bed and Breakfast thing. The Thornhedge is everything you could want in a getaway and more. The house is stunning and the antiques inside are just amazing, you almost feel like you're visiting a museum. The room we stayed in was so comfortable, and it was just nice waking up in the morning and feeling like you're at home.

Andrew, the innkeeper, knows everything about the town and gives really great pointers on where to go in the area. His hospitality was great and took care of all our needs.

The wine and cheese hour was a nice surprise after a day of adventure. Just relaxing with a glass of white wine and some crackers and meeting new people was a highlight.

We are looking forward to coming back next Summer!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casa Far Niente room, it was GREAT!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pizzow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Thornhedge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a perfect stay at the Inn. Andrew is so friendly and very knowledgeable about area attractions, hiking trails and restaurants. He even made us a to go breakfast before our early flight on our departure day. The house is lovely and we were very comfortable in the Fairview room on the 3rd floor. There is so much to do in Bar Harbor are that we will look forward to another visit. We loved being close to downtown.

Room Tip: Fairview is on 3rd floor but very spacious and huge bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My son and I had an excellent evening at Thornhedge. We were on our way to Robin Hood Camp and my 13 year old was a bit nervous. All the guest at breakfast gathered and shared with him helping him cope with all his expectations, it was the best way to start the day for him. Andrew's warm welcome and the athmosphere he creates could not be better. The best choice I could have made. I'm staying in the same place when I go again to pick him up. 100% recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This was our first time staying in a B&B. We loved the Inn. Beautiful decor. We stayed in the Chatwold room on first floor. Everything was very clean & comfortable. Andrew was a perfect host. We especially enjoyed the wine & cheese gathering at 5pm. Location is perfect - just a short walk to restaurants. Breakfast was yummy with homemade muffins. If in the area we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bnbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I were very lucky to stay here on a recent visit to Bar Harbor. It's closer to Main Street than many others, with plenty of parking.
We stayed in Fairview, on the third floor. Though there was onky a standing shower, the water was hot with excellent water pressure for an older home. Things were quiet at night, even though town (and the house) were full.
Andy was always present for the duration of b'fast and the afternoon wine & cheese, but you never felt he was hovering. He gave excellent suggestions when asked, even when we called the house in the middle of the day seeking a good lunch spot.
We would definitely stay with him again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisy209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Thornhedge Inn is located 2 blocks from the Bar Harbor town center - the village green. It's clean, quiet and the coffee is ready at 7 am. Andrew and Ezra are always available. Andrew suggested we take a SouthWest Harbor boat tour ( the Sea Princess ) ; we saw a bald eagle ! If you take a boat tour , take a jacket no matter how warm it is on the dock. We did very little driving during our 4 days in Bar Harbor. There are 7 buses that take you all over the island and, the buses are free. Bar Harbor is on the edge of the Acadia national park . It's beautiful. We rented off-road bikes at Bar Harbor Bikes (a great bike shop on Cottage St ) , took the bike shuttle bus from the village green and rode the carriage road in the park. If you rent a bike, make sure to rent a bike lock. There are a lot of great place to eat. Our favorites were the Terrance Garden ( at the Bar Harbor Hotel by the pier ) and Thurston's ' Lobster Pound ' in Bernard . Bernard is on the other side of Mt Desert Island. You can get there by taking the #7 bus to the last stop and walking down to the harbor. ' Lobster Pound ' restarants charge by the weight of the lobster. You can get a 2 pound lobster steamed for $15. The view from Thurston's was gorgeous.
Thornhedge Inn is a 100 year old Victorian summer house in perfect condition. It has plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NolaJoe1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the Inn for five nights and it was just lovely. Andy is a wonderful host. He is easy going, very personable and provided us with lots of helpful hints on hikes, restaurants and kayaking. We even had the pleasure of meeting his dad who is equally personable. We will be back again someday!

Room Tip: Chatwold on the first floor was very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaraClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhedge Inn

Address: 47 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1748
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £216 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornhedge Inn is an authentic Bar Harbor classic summer cottage. This centrally located bed and breakfast is in the Historic Corridor District in the heart of Bar Harbor. Walk to restaurants and shopping or take a short drive into Acadia National Park, and all the extreme or relaxing activities our island has to offer. Wholesome breakfasts, afternoon wine and cheese. Every room has a private bath and some have a fireplace or private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thornhedge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhedge Hotel Bar Harbor
Thornhedge Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing