We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot!”
Review of Thornhedge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornhedge Inn
Ranked #20 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect spot!”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Labor day weekend and had the best time! It's definitely a long ride (4+ hours) from Boston to Bar Harbor so we were glad that our room was ready for us for an early check-in. We didn't spend a lot of time IN the room - as we kept our days pretty busy. We were in the room on the bottom floor (not sure of the name) it was very quaint and had everything that we needed.

The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the harbor and all of the restaurant and shops so it's definitely a perfect location. The inn-keeper, Andrew, was also very helpful with restaurant suggesstions and hikes in Acadia.

Here's a couple of things we did over the weekend:
1. Watch the sunrise on Cadillac mountain
2. Hike up Beehive trail and Precipice
3. Take the Schooner sunset cruise (bring your own wine/beer and maybe some cheese)
4. We are golfers but not too experienced - so we headed over to Winter Harbor to Grindstone Neck golf course. A little pricey but we had basically the course to ourselves and the oceanviews from a couple of the holes were awesome.
5. The Dog & Pony Tavern is a fun spot for some after dinner drinks. It's a bar that feels/looks like a tree house.
6. Atlantic Brewery Tour / Definitely try the BBQ there

I absolutely love the views, food and everything about Bar Harbor.. such a fun place - we packed a lot into only a couple of days so hopefully next time we can stay a little longer :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Could not have had a better stay, despite the trek up to the third floor. We booked late, so the one room available was on the third floor. It was still great and well worth the stairs. We were there over the 4th of July. It was a great place to be to celebrate the fourth. Andrew, the owner, was very helpful and knowledgeable and the other guests made it interesting and enjoyable. We would definitely return if we have the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KM-Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownsville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is a beautiful B&B full of antique furniture that adds to the ambiance and comfort for the entire house. It is a little outside of town so nice and quite but definitely walkable to town. The Innkeeper is the best. He is always available to give suggestions on where to go and what to do. They serve a continental breakfast and where I would have liked a little more variety, the fruit was fresh and pastries homemade. We went in the fall when the air was crisp, leaves turning color and mountains perfect for biking and hiking

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a beautiful working fireplace and a very small shower, our friends had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We are two women friends travelling together. We spent three nights at the Thornhedge Inn in the room called Greenway Court, the only room with two beds. The pros: We had a large room and plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the bath. The Inn is in a great location just a couple of blocks from the downtown area--shops and restaurants, and the harbor. There is sufficient off street parking. The Innkeeper is third generation in his family for this Inn and is very knowledgeable about the history of the house built in 1900. He is also quite knowledgeable about the area, activities and Acadia National Park. Our room and bath were clean, although the sheets appeared to be quite well worn. Wine, cheese and fruit is served in the Parlor from 5-6pm.

The decor can be a bit overwhelming at first. There are many patterns and prints and things going on all over. However, once you take time to look at items individually, there are some very nice and interesting pieces. That being said, we felt that our room, the one all the way in the back, with the two beds, was the one where the leftovers landed. (The majority of B&B guests are couples so there are never many rooms available with two beds.) There were about six patterns going on, most of which did not coordinate with one another. Several tables had odd pieces of fabric as table coverings that clearly were not Victorian or any appropriate period, and really detracted from the rooms.

In Greenway Court, are beds described on the website as "3/4 beds". We weren't sure what that means and the description was not clear. Just FYI--they are wider than a twin, slightly less than a full. AND at 5'8" tall, my feet extended beyond the end of the mattress, so 3/4 means length too.

The cons: I can't speak for any of the other rooms, but our room, located in the annex behind the main part of the house, smelled very musty and odd. We kept the windows open all night in 50 degree weather to the air the place out. There should NEVER be a smell of any kind in a hotel room! The fan in the windowless bathroom did not work and with all the steam created by the hot shower the entire room was dripping with condensation. There was no hair dryer nor clock in the room. The wi-fi only works in the front of the main house so there was none in our room. We've stayed in many B&Bs around the country and have never stayed in one that did not serve a full, hot gourmet breakfast. Here they offer only a self-serve continental breakfast-muffins, croissants, cereals, bagels, toast, yogurt, fruit, OJ, coffee and tea. We cleared our own dishes from the table to the pantry. It was fine for what it was, however, we expect more for the price. There were also numerous areas around the property that were cluttered and unkempt. The vacuum and a rollaway bed were stored right by our door. The gardens and yard were in need of weeding and tidying up. There were dirty ashtrays on the front porch and the side tables needed to be wiped down.

If we were to return to Bar Harbor, we'd look for a new place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at this B&B in August 2012 in one of the rooms in the annex attached to the rear of the main house. We had a wonderful stay. Several visitors were repeats. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet, attractive. The proprietor (Andrew?) is friendly, helpful and cooks a excellent continental breakfast himself. I believe the property has been in his family for some time, and the Inn has a good, established reputation. Thornhedge is located on a main street leading into the center of Bar Harbor, walking distance to pick up the bus into Acadia park, or the shops. The street is lined with other inns and older houses. The common areas of the inn are well appointed and inviting. For the moderate cost (high season), we felt this place was good value, especially compared with some of the motels along Rt. 3 which put you some distance from Bar Harbor and park entrances.

Room Tip: Go online to look, and ask the innkeeper for any details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NotAccidental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights while visiting Acadia National Park. The inn is beautifully decorated with lovely antiques. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a private bath. Andrew the innkeeper was so gracious, friendly, and helpful. He knows everything about Bar Harbor and made us feel very welcome. We asked about a specific restaurant, and he immediately called to make a reservation for us that night. He had a great breakfast each morning (the croissants are the best!), and a lovely wine and cheese hour in the early evening. The inn is steps away from downtown Bar Harbor where all the restaurants and shops are and it is about a mile from Acadia National Park. We enjoyed our stay very much and highly recommend it. Beautiful and convenient!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights 8/12. Room was great ( Stanwood ), Fireplace, very comfortable bed, very clean, and a private balcony overlooking the front yard and street. Location is perfect, 10 minute walk to downtown Bar Harbor but still plenty quiet at night. Andy was always available for any info needed about the area or just to share his vast knowledge of Bar Harbor, wish we were'nt so busy so we could have talked to him more. The Inn itself is like a Museum, everytime you walk through you notice something you missed. Love all the Elephants. Breakfast is homemade muffins and cakes, fruit, bagels, etc. Perfect if you are planning on walking Bar Harbor, hiking, biking, and dont want to be weighed down. If not there are plenty of breakfast places within walking distance. No reason to look anywhere else if you are looking for a Bar Harbor B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qwkvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 30 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhedge Inn

Property: Thornhedge Inn
Address: 47 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1748
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornhedge Inn is an authentic Bar Harbor classic summer cottage. This centrally located bed and breakfast is in the Historic Corridor District in the heart of Bar Harbor. Walk to restaurants and shopping or take a short drive into Acadia National Park, and all the extreme or relaxing activities our island has to offer. Wholesome breakfasts, afternoon wine and cheese. Every room has a private bath and some have a fireplace or private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thornhedge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhedge Hotel Bar Harbor
Thornhedge Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing