We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within walking distance to everything”
Review of Thornhedge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornhedge Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Within walking distance to everything”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

There are many B&B, hotels, motels etc on and near Bar Harbor. Glad we found this one! The owner, Andy, makes all feel welcomed. I read a past review that suggested there wasn't any solid breakfast - which is why we initially thought the price was cheaper than others. Truth is - I bet those reviewers didn't sit down and wait for Andy to bring his gourmet creations from the kitchen. The food was amazing - and I mean amazing! The rooms were very comfortable, we stayed in one of the 3 downstairs. Ceiling fan was a bonus, and even in August, we could sleep with the windows open. It is in walking distance (~2-3 blks) of all the downtown attractions and free shuttle to Acadia. Well, well, well worth everything. Very VERY clean too!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed great; ours was in basement which had a tricky staircase if anyone is prone to acci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nielsen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for several nights as we enjoyed Acadia and Bar Harbor. The inn exceeded our expectations from the start. The room was bigger than anticipated and cozy. Daily breakfast served was excellent. The innkeeper went out of his way to make you feel welcome. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 617anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, GA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here from 7/20 to 7/30/ 2013. What a wonderful stay! I'm sure I slept with a smile on my face in that comfy bed! The rooms are clean, CLEAN, spacious, and beautiful. And the gourmet breakfasts are served around a huge, beautiful dining room table, where you can talk to other guests, and plan your day. Andy is so knowledgeable about the town, knows all the great places to eat, and has suggestions on things to do in town, in all sorts of weather. In the evening, wine and cheese is set out for the guests where you can chat in the salon, or out on the porch. I've smiled 'til my cheeks hurt! Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antoinette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Ah...another year of marriage, another anniversary trip to Bar Harbor and the Thornhedge Inn. I'd say one of the best things to hear about the place you've chosen to spend a special weekend are that the other guests around the breakfast table have returned to the Inn again and again. We are becoming one of those couples. Now our third trip to this wonderful B&B and we only have better reviews to offer. The Thornhedge now serves a full hot breakfast. We enjoyed blueberry french toast, quiche and orange/ginger french toast on our three mornings at the Inn. Along with the wonderful fresh fruit and yogurt, homemade muffins and bread that we've enjoyed in the past, these breakfasts were a nice new surprise and a perfect way to start the day. My husband LOVED the cucumber infused ice water in the morning and the afternoon. What a great idea! We adore this inn, we love meeting all the other visitors and have never felt such a welcoming warm atmosphere from everyone who returns year after year. I booked this trip last December - long before they were accepting reservations - THAT's how much I wanted to ensure we got our room! Our room was beautiful and spotless with a nice little balcony. You will not be disappointed with the Thornhedge. We got a couple of great restaurant recommendations from Andy, as well, and he was spot on. Can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeneenhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Labor day weekend and had the best time! It's definitely a long ride (4+ hours) from Boston to Bar Harbor so we were glad that our room was ready for us for an early check-in. We didn't spend a lot of time IN the room - as we kept our days pretty busy. We were in the room on the bottom floor (not sure of the name) it was very quaint and had everything that we needed.

The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the harbor and all of the restaurant and shops so it's definitely a perfect location. The inn-keeper, Andrew, was also very helpful with restaurant suggesstions and hikes in Acadia.

Here's a couple of things we did over the weekend:
1. Watch the sunrise on Cadillac mountain
2. Hike up Beehive trail and Precipice
3. Take the Schooner sunset cruise (bring your own wine/beer and maybe some cheese)
4. We are golfers but not too experienced - so we headed over to Winter Harbor to Grindstone Neck golf course. A little pricey but we had basically the course to ourselves and the oceanviews from a couple of the holes were awesome.
5. The Dog & Pony Tavern is a fun spot for some after dinner drinks. It's a bar that feels/looks like a tree house.
6. Atlantic Brewery Tour / Definitely try the BBQ there

I absolutely love the views, food and everything about Bar Harbor.. such a fun place - we packed a lot into only a couple of days so hopefully next time we can stay a little longer :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Could not have had a better stay, despite the trek up to the third floor. We booked late, so the one room available was on the third floor. It was still great and well worth the stairs. We were there over the 4th of July. It was a great place to be to celebrate the fourth. Andrew, the owner, was very helpful and knowledgeable and the other guests made it interesting and enjoyable. We would definitely return if we have the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KM-Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownsville
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is a beautiful B&B full of antique furniture that adds to the ambiance and comfort for the entire house. It is a little outside of town so nice and quite but definitely walkable to town. The Innkeeper is the best. He is always available to give suggestions on where to go and what to do. They serve a continental breakfast and where I would have liked a little more variety, the fruit was fresh and pastries homemade. We went in the fall when the air was crisp, leaves turning color and mountains perfect for biking and hiking

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a beautiful working fireplace and a very small shower, our friends had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhedge Inn

Property: Thornhedge Inn
Address: 47 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1748
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornhedge Inn is an authentic Bar Harbor classic summer cottage. This centrally located bed and breakfast is in the Historic Corridor District in the heart of Bar Harbor. Walk to restaurants and shopping or take a short drive into Acadia National Park, and all the extreme or relaxing activities our island has to offer. Wholesome breakfasts, afternoon wine and cheese. Every room has a private bath and some have a fireplace or private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thornhedge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhedge Hotel Bar Harbor
Thornhedge Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing