We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Thornhedge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornhedge Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had two nights booked here over Memorial Day weekend. After arriving and staying the first night, we decided to book two additional nights. If your staying in Bar Harbor stay here and let me tell you why: First the house is beautiful and you can walk everywhere which is a HUGE plus because parking fills up quickly. Second the innkeeper Andrew is really on top of his game. I've never stayed somewhere where someone went consistently out of their way to provide top notch service and hospitality. Finally, the breakfast is outstanding. We looked forward to it every morning. Andrew also does wine and cheese (along with other appetizers that he prepares on a whim daily) that was a great time to get to know the other guests. Very impressed and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowlingca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This inn has it all: great location just blocks from the town center, a professional and friendly host, antique furnishings and collections befitting the Queen Anne architecture, and a reasonable rate. Breakfasts were truly amazing (including artful plating), and afternoon wine and cheese was another great opportunity to chat with Andy and the guests.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro Beach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We walked into the Thornhedge without a reservation and were able to snag the last room for 2 nights in the week before Columbus Day. Andrew, the Innkeeper, is a young and very professional host. He has a very relaxed and engaging style. The late afternoon wine and cheese, and the morning breakfast were opportunities to bring the guests together to learn about Bar Harbor, Acadia Park, and the rest of the island. He is very knowledgeable about the area and willing to share what he knows to help you make the most of your visit. The inn is very comfortable, tastefully decorated with many beautiful pieces of period furniture, and is close to the Bar Harbor action. And, the whole area is the most marvelous on the northern east coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galby14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great Location, ! We loved our rooms, spacious and each one has its own character.
The friendly host Andrew spent time with all the guests and chats about their day.
The afternoon "wine and cheese" actvity is a great chance to meet other guests
The proximity to town make is easier to get to different restaurants and stores.
The decor is quite interesting. The breakfast offers a lot of choices and it is delicious.!
Would love to come back !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 158Lore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a wonderful home, with nice, large rooms and an amazingly talented and energetic innkeeper.

Even in a five star restaurant, I've never seen such an impressive breakfast presentation. Andrew is talented, welcoming and patient. He grew up in Bar Harbor and his parents bought the historical home in the 70's, so his knowledge of the area is amazing. Not only is it a great place to stay, but, he also knows how to create an immediate sense of community among the guests from the community breakfast table to the evening wine and cheese.

As an added bonus for anyone of the more Sr set, Paul Newman stayed here when Andrew's grandparents first started the B&B.

Room Tip: Don't let the "basement" room scare you. I was disappointed that the Talleyrand was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAEricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The perfect place to stay. Two blocks from the main street, so it is a quick walk to the pier and all the restaurants and shops, but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Acadia National Park is only a few minutes away. Beautiful home with enviable antiques. We really enjoyed getting to know Andrew, the host. He is multi-talented, very helpful and knowledgeable about a wealth of subjects. No matter what is going on, he takes the time to visit with his guests and get to know them. We stayed for 5 days and could not have been happier with our residence.

Room Tip: First floor room (Chatwold) is convenient, secluded and large, with its own fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wonderful historical house, gourmet breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Host was very informative and pleasant. Really enjoyed the resident dog. Location was close for walking to shops and restaurants Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadridIAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhedge Inn

Property: Thornhedge Inn
Address: 47 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1748
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornhedge Inn is an authentic Bar Harbor classic summer cottage. This centrally located bed and breakfast is in the Historic Corridor District in the heart of Bar Harbor. Walk to restaurants and shopping or take a short drive into Acadia National Park, and all the extreme or relaxing activities our island has to offer. Wholesome breakfasts, afternoon wine and cheese. Every room has a private bath and some have a fireplace or private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thornhedge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhedge Hotel Bar Harbor
Thornhedge Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing