We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acadia Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acadia Pines Motel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Affordable and Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We just returned from our trip--Mount Desert Island is amazing! While this motel is not in Bar Harbor proper, (it's on Eastern Bay), it is a cute, quiet and convenient spot to stay. For our family, it was exactly what we were looking for.

Pros: We got a family unit with stove, half refrigerator and microwave, with a King bed out front and two twins in the small second room. It was clean and suitable for a family of four. The location was perfect for us; right next to the campground where the FREE shuttle takes you in town, to the National Park, or most other popular locations on the island. There is a lobster pound right across the street where you can eat in or take away lobsters, and a cute mini golf course. The bus trip to the National Park visitor's center is very short (10 minutes), the bus trip to Bar Harbor Village Green is not very long. (15-20 minutes?) The property is quiet, well maintained, and there are chairs and a covered patio on the front lawn for book reading and lounging. (Not too many mosquitos, but some. :) The staff was nice, and helpful, and we would stay again. This was the most affordable place we could find for the size we needed on the island.

Cons: The king room dresser drawers smelled strongly of mildew when we opened them, so we didn't use them. The twin bedroom drawers were fine. The bathroom is very small, but clean. The pool was supposedly heated, but my son couldn't tolerate how cold it was, and older guys in the pool said it was very chilly.

So, overall, we got what we expected, and would stay again if we were bringing the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpunkyPrimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen D, Owner at Acadia Pines Motel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
I wish to address this guests comment about the temperature of the pool.

We try to maintain the water temperature between 82 and 84 degrees but on a hot day with temperatures in the 90's it may have seemed cool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    99
    41
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
114
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our first trip to Bar Harbour and loved it. We stayed here two nights and was pleased with our room. We chose an ecomony room because we didn't intend to be inside alot, so it was fine. Room was very clean and had all the comforts we needed. Nice sitting areas outside so we took full advantage of those. Staff was excellant, made great suggestions for sites to see and places to eat. Staff had recommended going up Cadillac Mountain to watch the sunset, which we did and we would also recommend this to all. It is the most amazing site and the views are spectacular. Supper next door at Mainly Meats was wonderful and then the ice cream--well that has to be experienced in order to understand. So many flavours, so little time. After a hot day touring, the pool here was a welcome refreshment. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay at this charming Motel. The parking is adequate and exterior grounds are so very nice with picnic tables and lounge chairs. The rooms were clean and the pool was very nice and refreshing. Inn location was convenient to walk to a nearby restaurant through a path in the woods. Also, you can walk next door to the campground and pick up the bus into Bar Harbor or the Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyNameIsBabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night $90 in July in king bed room. Overall good motel 7-10 min drive to downtown Bar Harbor and 5 min to one of the park entrances. Had king bed and flat screen. Maybe I would update bed covers( personal opinion I just don't like bed cover colors in most of the motels). Its not far at all probably will save you $40-50 comparing to the motels of the same category that are right next/ or in downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a very clean and neat motel. It is a family run business. Made my reservations after reading some reviews on TripAdvisor, and so glad I did! My husband and I stayed in a king room, which was a very nice sized with plenty of room. The furniture all looks new, plenty of drawer space. The bed is extremely comfortable, the bathroom is nice. There is a small round table and two nice chairs in the room. The rug in the room looks new and not worn at all. There is a large window in the front of the room, that lets in lots of light, if you want it, if not when you close the curtain, no light comes in. Outside the room are two plastic chairs for each room. They have a nice outdoor heated pool. A nice grassy area in front with some larger plastic chairs, and also picnic tables. We spoke with Karen, the owner and she is so nice and friendly. You can tell that she really cares about the motel and that people staying there are happy. There is a good restaurant right next door and a ice cream shop too. All and all, we really like this motel and will definitely be back next time we are in Bar Harbor!!

Room Tip: We were in room 8, and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a family run motel that is about a 10 minute ride to downtown Bar Harbor but closer to the entrance of Acadia Park. I stayed in a standard queen, and the room was adequate for my needs. Cleanliness is an upmost importance to me. The housekeeper, I believe by the name of Julia, did a nice job keeping it clean - something that can't be said for many motels- and the room looked to be updated. Although located on a fairly busy street, it is set back from the road and lined with pine trees that muffle the noise. I didnt notice it, and even slept with my windows open because the weather turned grey and cool during my stay. The owner Karen is very knowledgeable so be sure to get tips from her regarding itineraries and things to do. She may talk your ear off but she has loads of first hand experience. I must say I was pleased with my rate and my stay here in general and would certainly book a future visit here. Im not a "pool person" so I cannot comment on it, but they did mention they cleared quite a bit of trees out back to allow more light in. They keep the outdoor porch lights on until 10:30. My first night I was annoyed that Quite a bit of light was filtering through the top of my door, but thankfully they do shut them off when the office closes for the night. Id much rather support a locally run business trying to do good than one of the anonymous corporate hotels. They cater to middle America. if you want high end amenities choose a hotel downtown. If you want simple and clean, this fits the bill fine. I liked that it had a character and charm about it that seemed like what Maine is all about.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReeverNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you are looking for a family run establishment this fits the bill. We stayed in a room with a king bed. Plenty of room - the bed was too soft for us, but satisfactory. The motel sits back off the road and has nice woodsy surroundings. Our room was immaculate and remained that way for our 3 day stay. If you are looking for new & cookie cutter this isn't the place for you. If you enjoy a place with character, is clean, and has chairs to sit outside in the evening - this is the place you are looking for!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Pines Motel

Property: Acadia Pines Motel
Address: 389 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 6 acres of lawn and trees, just 2 miles before the Hulls CoveVisitor's Center for Acadia National Park, our family owned and operated motel offers 22 clean, affordable,comfortable rooms. Our guests say the eclectic decor gives our rooms a nice homey feel. A place to just relax and enjoy being in Maine. The rooms vary in size from the economy queen unit to a spacious king kitchen. For families we offer the roomy 2 queen bed units with or without a kitchen to the spacious two room kitchen unit. They feature one king, 1 or 2 queen beds and two room units with 1 king and 2 twins, 5 kitchenettes, all rooms have a refrigerator,hair dryer and in-room-coffee, king rooms include a mirowave. The 48 foot ,outdoor pool is open and heated from late June to Labor Day. There are picnic tables, lawn chairs and a gazebo for guest use. There is a woodland path to the property next door to our right which features a restaurant, ice cream shop and general store. Across the street is Pirates Cove Adventure Golf, a 2nd restaurant and gift shop. The Island Explorer Shuttle bus has a scheduled stop right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Acadia Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Pines Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Pines Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing