We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windward Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Isle Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
32
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicture windowlobster potquiet sidetidal poolseach cottageliving roomhome away from homeperfect locationcovetidewengeracadiamaineshore
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I searched online and found this rental after much deliberation. It was totally perfect for our family of 4. We had a king bed and our boys had their own twins in our 2 bedroom cottage. It was immaculately clean and spacious with everything we needed, other than the little mosquitoes that were everywhere in Maine. Canoeing in the mornings and hiking later in the afternoons and eating lobster the rest of the day. The cottage was very close to Arcadia, yet out of the traffic and very quiet. Everything we needed to cook with was available and grocery stores were nearby. We had clean towels everyday when we came home and Ollie was available for questions and directions. I would highly recommend staying here and would love to come back one day. It would make a great family reunion place if you could get several cottages the same week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buster434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent a week at the windward cottages, while visiting Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, and loved this little gem. The cottage had everything we could need, was located on a beautiful bay (where we went clamming and searching for mussels at low tide and ventured into the bay on the complimentary kayaks during high tide), and was just down the road from Acadia. Ollie was fantastic- friendly and full of useful information on how to make our trip memorable- and he had a good collection of dvds and hiking/tour books to borrow during our stay. The cottage was clean and comfy, with a grill and lobster pot- making dinners-in very easy. It was the perfect place to spend our evenings stargazing, after hiking the amazing trails of Acadia. Would love to come back again sometime soon-- wish it was a little closer to our home in Virginia. We Highly recommend the Windward Cottages if you are looking for a peaceful place to stay that is close to Acadia and Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We have been to "Windward " times since the 1970's . I's the only place we will stay. The owners are wonderful , the cottages are comfortable, very clean , beautiful views, quiet , there is nothing bad to say about "Windward" . Now live in Colorado , not as easy to go since moving from Maryland BUT we will go back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crobColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here in October, while visiting Acadia for 1 week. First thing is first the owners are great easy going and extremely helpful and nice. The cottages, are clean, simple comfortable and have all the amenities you could need. The location is close to Acadia and Bar Harbor, and its quiet. Personally I wanted to camp out, but the wife hates camping.. I ended up having to leave a 2 days early due to a sudden unexpected business issue back home, but will definitely stay there again. Acadia is a beautiful place to visit as is Maine. Wish I had more time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelphotoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My family (2 parents, 3 boys under 10) spent a week here in June 2012 and couldn't have been happier. What you'll find at Windward Cottages: clean, simple cabins with gorgeous views of the salt marshes, fireflies, stars, a waiting canoe, peace and quiet and enough money left in your pocket to afford to eat all that lobster. What you won't find here: crowds, traffic, t-shirt shops, neon, bed linens that cost more than a college education or the word "botique."

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank lynx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews