We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect setting”
Review of Windward Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windward Cottages
Reviewed 20 July 2009

On the "quiet side" of Mt. Desert Island, this place is great. When we arrived everything was spic and span. Each cabin has a perfect view of the bay and beautiful sunsets. Free access to sea kayaks and canoe and free wireless was a bonus too!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2008

Visited Windward Cottages in the first week of September 2008 with my wife and 6 month old daughter.

what a lovely place with great hosts Ollie & Kellie. The cottages were fully equipped and had everything needed. The location is amazing with stunning views over the bay - beautiful sunsets in the evening.

The cottages are easy to find and are approx 15 mins drive from Bar Harbor centre - near enough but also far enough to benefit from the tranquility.

The owners provide kayaks and canoes for your use which is an added bonus.

Overall a fantastic stay - though watch out for mosquitos in the evening - they weren't too bad but pack some insect repellant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Globesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

We stayed at the Windward Cottages over Memorial Day weekend (2008) along with some friends. We each rented a two bedroom cottage that included a living room, full bath and kitchen/dining area. Plenty of room for two adults and two kids.

The units were SPOTLESS. Even the dishes and cookware were clean, as was the gas grill. The beds were excellent. You can tell that the owner takes a great deal of pride in his property.

Beautiful location on Western Bay. There are canoes and sea kayaks that are available free of charge should you want to paddle around the cove. Tidal pools for the kids to explore.

Acadia National Park and the town of Bar Harbor are close enough to enjoy (maybe 15 minutes), while returning to the quiet of the cottages at night.

An excellent experience that we intend to repeat.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shitzngrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

The proprietors were great, and the place was BEAUTIFUL. Best place we stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jennybento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2006

If you enjoy having your "own little home" to return to each day Windward Cottages on Mt. Desert Island are a wonderful choice. Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor are only a short drive away. We stayed in Cottage No. 1 the first week of June 2006. The cottage was immaculately clean and the kitchen well stocked with cooking equipment and dishes. There's even a outdoor gas grill for each cottage. The cottages all have picture windows looking out over Clark's Cove on Western Bay. You get a marvelous demonstration of the extreme tides! Ollie and Kelli Wenger are wonderful hosts, providing fresh towels daily and good advice on things to see and do.

8  Thank Aldridge314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
4.1 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
6.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
6.5 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
373 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
1.1 mi away
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Cottages

Address: 28 Western Bay Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7104
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Windward Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing