We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down Home Place To Rest Your Head”
Review of Robbins Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Robbins Motel
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Down Home Place To Rest Your Head”
Reviewed 10 November 2007

We enjoyed this old down home place. Its a one man show with the dog named Cloud and his master Jack who cleans the rooms, paints the building,even does the laundry and gives good "pay in cash" deals. The Robbins has small car parking places but everything else is large enough. We usually come in spring and autumn but they closed this year in middle of October but when you call, the recording says they will open in May next year and are happy to take a reservation.

  • Liked — Cash Deals
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank irscollect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    66
    26
    21
See reviews for
31
169
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

This motel is a little outdated. It is clean and the owners are friendly. The rooms are SMALL but so is the price. I would stay here again. If you don't need fancy and don't plan to spend anytime in your room anyway, this is the place for you.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank xman2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

The Robbins Motel charges $32.00 for all rooms, except for peak season, where the rates go up to $58.00 for all rooms. The rooms are cozy, neat and clean, and have a heater and air conditioner in each, as well as a tv. One of the things that the wife and I like best about the rooms is the comfort of the beds; there is nothing like a good night sleep. There also is a nice pool to cool off in, or take a late night dip. The hotel is also only about 5.4 miles from down town Bar Harbor, so it`s pretty convienient. If you`re planning to stay in or near Bar Harbor from the last of June, to labor day, you best reserve your room or chances are you will be out of luck. This is really true with Robbins motel, because the rates are low.Now Robbins Motel is not a fancy place, but it is , like I said before is cozy, neat clean and comfortable, with an eager staff willing to help should a guest need anything. The wife and I will be staying there everytime we go to B. H. I highly recommend this Motel! P.S. Look for the quarter on the office step; he probably has it cemented back in place by now.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank woodyplacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

We actually found Robbins Motel after staying in the Nasty Days Inn for two nights. We passed by and there was a sign $58 and proud to show the room. So we took a look at the room and they were nice and clean not like the Days Inn. This motel is small has a queen size bed, tv, stand up shower, and an alarm clock we didn't even have one in the days inn and we paid $172 there.
Robbins Motel is very close to Acadia Park and to the downtown area of Bar harbor. It was a great place for us because we didn't spend most of our time in our room we were spent it outdoors but wanted a clean place to sleep and Robbins Motel was perfect. The service was great, a light was not working in the room and we told Jack and as soon as we were back in the room it was working. In the office Jack made fresh coffee which he offered to all of his guests. Great Stay for the money!

  • Liked — It was clean and very affordable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2007

Very nice little motel. Very reasonably priced. The motel is old, however, it is very clean and cosy. Close to the Acadia National Park entrance, and not too far from downtown (~3) miles. Very nice motel for your money. Strongerly recommended for people who wants to enjoy the beauty and nature of Acadia during the daytime, and wants to find a place to rest in the night.

If you want to spend most of your time in the motel room, go somewhere else.

Nittany Lions

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Samon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stumbled across their website while doing a search for lodgings in Bar Harbor and were intrigued by their advertised price of only $32. a night, the fact they were proud to show their rooms before booking and their entertaining FAQ.

After viewing their rooms (yes, we were sceptical too!) we stayed for 2 nights and couldn't have been happier! The room was basic but very clean and comfortable. We had cable TV, wireless Internet, a great heater and towels. I mention the towels because they were so thick and luxurious that I couldn't dry the inside of my ears! :)

This is not the Sheraton! This is only if you want a clean, comfortable bed at a GREAT price with friendly service. We will stay here again.

  • Liked — The price
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, VT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2007

Wonderful value, comfortable accomodation, well located close to Acadia National Park, close to The CAT Ferry to Canada with reasonable priced restaurants within walking distance.

  • Liked — Clean and Comfortable
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foreststreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
0.1 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robbins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robbins Motel

Property: Robbins Motel
Address: 396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7541
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Harbor no frills option. We offer clean, comfortable rooms with today's conveniences at nostalgic prices. All rooms have one queen bed, cable TV, AC, WIFI. All rooms are non-smoking. Owned and operated by the same family for over 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Robbins Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robbins Hotel Bar Harbor
Robbins Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing