We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Basic”
Review of Robbins Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Robbins Motel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
augusta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean and Basic”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from spending 2 nights at the RObbin's motel. Was on a business trip so only in the room for the evenings. Room was very dark due to the pine paneling. Wish they could brighten it up a bit. Wifi worked well and the room was very clean and staff helpful. Even through I am only 5"2' I was still taller than the shower head and had to bend down to take an adequate shower. The location is great, very close to all the activities Bar Harbor has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippenAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    103
    69
    27
    22
See reviews for
31
175
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

It's hard to read any negative reviews about this place. If you are planning a vacation to Maine and all you want to do is hang out in your room, then maybe this place isn't for you. But if you are on vacation in Maine and want to see the sights, then this place is perfect to come back to and lay your head. The girl at the front desk was very kind and helpful. The hotel is super close to Bar Harbor and Acadia. Pirate's Cove mini golf next door and an awesome lobster pound is literally a 20 foot walk from the hotel! It is definitely not the Hyatt, but if you want a CLEAN and COMFORTABLE place to lay your head without breaking the bank, then this is it. We will definitely be vacationing in Maine again, and Robbins Hotel will be booked for our future vacations!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 18 and it was great. I think any room will serve the purpose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersworth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

So, these are my thoughts on this motel. First off, I had no idea what I was getting into because I trusted someone else to look for and book this room. Not something I would have nor will I ever do again. I was completely blindsided as it was. Usually I love your little quaint family owned businesses, but the young woman behind the desk was not the friendliest person I have met lately. When you say free WiFi I don't expect to be looked at like I have 16 heads and then get told well you have to walk around to find a signal, really. So no amenities with this place means exactly that, I am surprised it had toilet paper. Just my opinion, and so true with you get what you pay for. If you want cheap and that is all you care about then this is your place. It is always a good thing to research. With all that being said, I would like to say Bar Harbor is a beautiful little town, which I will visit again.

Room Tip: Research, research and research. If it says no amenities believe it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Northfield, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

No frills here but it's only 4 miles from Bar Harbor and all the attractions. During high season, hotels in this neck of the woods are sky high....but Robbins maintains its $65 a night for two and that is that!! No coffee pot, no fridge, no microwave and you have to get ice from the front desk. No problem. I often rate a hotel on the quality of its towels and these were the thickest and snowiest ever. Would recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 55ReenieAnne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 and based on that experience, returned in July 2013. While the motel is convenient to Acadia and Bar Harbor, and the staff is friendly, there was a clear drop in quality this year following the change in ownership. The rooms are small and work if all you need to do is sleep at the end of the day. They just aren't as clean as they used to be. The bed linens in our rooms weren't changed every day, nor were the trash cans emptied, the floors vacuumed, or the surfaces dusted. We did receive fresh towels every day, but they were placed on the bedspread instead of in the bathroom towel rack, which seemed like it would have been a cleaner option.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better Wi-Fi access than others. If you will need to use the Internet, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrganizedWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed one night at this motel in Bar Harbor. This motel consists of a group of trailer type buildings. While the room was clean and very inexpensive for the area, it was a bit too rustic for my liking. It is located on a busy road and road noise can be heard at all hours. In addition, the bed is hard and only two limp pillows are provided. I probably will not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmaniacFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONTOURSVILLE
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I understand the reason why so many are giving this motel rave reviews. It's cheap, the people are friendly, and it gets you a nights rest. The room itself seemed clean. It had a "campy" feel. It served it's purpose. The bed was comfortable however, the pillows that were in the room were flat. The first night was hell, but the second night I went to the office and they gave me a few extra pillows which helped. We had room 6 and you all but need a step stool to get into the tub. Thankfully there was a handlebar on the side to help hoist myself in and out safely. All in all it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSRN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
356 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
409 reviews
4.3 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#37 of 41 in Bar Harbor
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
0.1 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Ocean View Motel
Acadia Ocean View Motel
#38 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robbins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robbins Motel

Property: Robbins Motel
Address: 396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7541
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Robbins Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Harbor no frills option. We offer clean, comfortable rooms with today's conveniences at nostalgic prices. All rooms have one queen bed, cable TV, AC, WIFI. All rooms are non-smoking. Owned and operated by the same family for over 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Robbins Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robbins Hotel Bar Harbor
Robbins Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing