We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run and memorable (if the whales cooperate)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company

Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company offers a variety of boat tours for all ages that show different sights and wildlife in the area around Mount Desert Island, Maine. The tours that we offer include a Puffin and Whale Watching trip, and Whale Watching tour, a Historical Lighthouse tour, a Nature Cruise, a Lobster Fishing and Seal Watching Tour, and a tour to Baker Island. We also have a gift shop in our ticket office, where you can purchase souvenirs during your time in town. We hope to see you on one (or more!) of our boat tours so we can show you why Bar Harbor, Maine is such a special place!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well run and memorable (if the whales cooperate)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We went on the 1:00 pm whale watch. We were fortunate to see a group of 4 humpbacks, including a calf, who swam right by us (human watching?), another whale doing tail breaches, and a fin whale. It was a great experience, one we will never forget. The naturalist provided expert narration, and the captain extended our return so we could watch the whale doing acrobatics. We were lucky. These animals do not appear on demand, but the staff knows the waters and do what they can to provide a great cruise. The ticket agent warned us to dress warmly, even though it was August. The captain told us the wave heights and periods before we left shore, allowing any to depart.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HHIslander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    233
    93
    45
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Whales Whales and More Whales!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I had made reservations for a whale watch tour on Friday July 26th and prepaid for it. As the date got closer, the weather forecast was not looking good for that day. On Thursday 7/25 (which was a beautiful day), I called to see about cancellations for Friday. As it turned out, they had added an additional tour (2PM) for that day and I was able to make reservations for 4 for that trip. They were so easy to work with. I'm so glad I called that morning. The young women telling us about the whales was very knowledgeable. We saw at least 5 different whales (2 breeds) and a couple of other sea creatures. It was fabulous. They warn you to dress warm and you SHOULD! We rode back in the galley so it was warmer than our ride out in the bow of the boat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Babylon, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“See the Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a very nice ride and realy did see a wale and her calf swimming . We also saw two other wales. They bring you to an island that the birds breed on. This is a reserch trip and you are helping them learn more about the wales.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Rewarding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We took the 3:30 AM nature cruise. The tour guide was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable, knew the area well, came prepared and was attentive to the passengers on the ferry. The ferry trip itself was a value for money proposition as it was for 2 hours and took us to a lot of different places. Highlights include watching a few Bald eagles and seals. We did not do the whale watching- so cannot compare pricing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nara_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was fantastic! We took the evening cruise. It got a bit chilly but we got to see a lot of whales and got a nice sunset too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank enthusiastofbnbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing