We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful cruise”

Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company offers a variety of boat tours for all ages that show different sights and wildlife in the area around Mount Desert Island, Maine. The tours that we offer include a Puffin and Whale Watching trip, and Whale Watching tour, a Historical Lighthouse tour, a Nature Cruise, a Lobster Fishing and Seal Watching Tour, and a tour to Baker Island. We also have a gift shop in our ticket office, where you can purchase souvenirs during your time in town. We hope to see you on one (or more!) of our boat tours so we can show you why Bar Harbor, Maine is such a special place!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful cruise”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Through this company, we took their nature and sightseeing cruise. "G" was our tour guide and was quite knowledgeable about the history of Bar Harbor and its many islands that we got to see. We also saw peregrine falcons, seals, and an eagle along the way. The staff was great as well and offered their binoculars to the passengers so we could get a look at everything. The boat is comfortable and it is smooth sailing. This was another great way to see Bar Harbor. It was informative, interesting and relaxing. Highly recommend this tour to add to your to do list.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank she31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    234
    93
    45
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing from start to finish”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

4 hour tour taking you from Frenchman's Bay in Bar Harbor. They gave us a disclaimer that there may be fog in the morning. You could have taken another cruise or gotten money back. I'm so glad we stayed. Get there early, seats fill fast! We were late, but didn't mind standing along side of boat for most of cruise. Dress warm, it is at least 10 degrees cooler than actual air temp if not cooler! Naturalist was great and passionate about her job. We were lucky to see many whales, huge pod of dolphins, harbor porpoises and many puffins! Bring a good pair of binoculars for puffins. You are a good 200-500 yard from island to view them. The caption is very patient in giving both sides of boat plenty of views. Definitely worth the money for us. Hopefully you will have similar experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colden, New York
1 review
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent boat ride, staff was highly knowledgeable and very friendly. Would definitely recommend going if visiting Bar Harbor. Beautiful sights and lots of whales!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great trip...boat ride was fun..most important thing.. We seen lots of whales! Also dolphins,seals and other sea creatures. The boat had plenty of room and the staff was friendly and very knowledgeable. We would highly recommend this company for whale watching.

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We paid $63 per person and I thought we would probably not get our $63 worth of entertainment on this excursion but I was wrong, it was worth every penny!! We waited to book the day of so we could have a nice weather day. The boat is spacious and has indoor or outdoor seating. You ride out to sea about 20 miles for an hour before you get to the whales. The whole ride the Naturalist onboard points out birds and anything else of interest. When you get to the area that the whales are suppose to be the naturalist will educate you on all sorts of great things! When you start seeing whales you will be amazed! We saw so many whales for an hour straight! The crew did an amazing job to ensure everyone got a view of the whales.

Another great thing about this company is that if you don't see whales you get a voucher to go back out again that lasts 3 years. They also don't go out if the weather is terrible so you don't have to worry about going on a whale watching tour and not seeing anything.

The crew was enthusiastic and great! Take dramamine because many people were sea sick, the boat sways a lot but is worth it to see whales up close in the ocean!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing