We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for 25th Anniv Celeb”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Thanks to prior TA reviews, my husband and I found a wonderful location for part of our delayed 25th anniversary trip... a set of cottages with lots of greenspace and a water view that was just 3 miles from the main entrance to Acadia NP, with Bar Harbor a couple of miles further. We stayed 3 nights in the quaint "Victorian" Cottage #9 and it was more than adequate for two. The single bedroom was very small (barely a foot between the wall and bed at both sides and bottom of the queen bed), so might be a problem for others if mobility issues. Wall lamps on both sides of the bed made it easy to enjoy late-night reading. The half refrigerator, 2-burner stove, and small sink suited our needs perfectly, and we even had a small screened porch with rockers on the back side as well as another open porch on the front. We enjoyed meeting the owner Kathy, and found the manager Laura to be an outstanding asset to the business -- a very personable young women who went out of her way to provide us with information (and also used her own freezer to refreeze our ice packs we needed on departure to keep medicine cold.) If you would like a friendly "at home" experience away from the busy-ness of Bar Harbor, this is the place :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmamFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. It is a great compliment that you chose to spend part of your 25th Wedding Anniversary with us. We are so pleased you felt at home in the Victorian Suite and found the accommodations more than adequate for two. Thank you for the compliments you paid our personable and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, who so enjoyed hosting you and your husband. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The cottage was maintained well, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The information file in the cottages was very useful and had a map and suggestions for first time visitors. We had a great and memorable time especially as this was our last stop of a week long tri-state roadtrip and rather than feeling exhausted we were energized. Highly recommend this place to others as we felt at home.

Room Tip: Recommend Cottage 10 - is set back among the cottages with trees in the background. the car park spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Great to hear that you had a rejuvenating and memorable experience with us. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with Trip Advisor. It is such a compliment when guests feel at home with us. We are so pleased that you found the cottages well-maintained, clean, and reasonably priced. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here two years ago so much that we went ahead to book this place for our second visit without looking somewhere else. AND we even shifted our travel dates just so that we could book a room here (it was fully booked over the Labor Day weekend).

What we loved about this place is that it's located in a safe, clean and quiet environment with lots of green spaces for our kid to run around, yet it's only a 10 minutes drive from downtown Bar Harbor and the entrance to Acadia National Park. The cottage is not fancy but it has all the amenities we need and it feels like home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuxx16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

We are so delighted that you chose to stay with us again this year-- even shifting your dates so that you could book with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. It is such a compliment when guests feel at home and comfortable with us. We are so pleased that your daughter had plenty of green space to play outside and that you found the cottages clean, well-equipped and close to everything. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in Cottage #10. It has 2 bedrooms which gave us plenty of room to store all our gear. Cottage is old, but very clean and offered everything we needed. Laura was very helpful suggesting hikes and day trips - most of which we did and enjoyed! Centrally located so it didn't take long to get to anything and it's not on a main road. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband during your visit to beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. We are so pleased you found our cottages clean, centrally located and equipped with everything you needed during your visit. We are also happy to hear that you found our Resident Manager, Laura, helpful in suggesting some day trip/hikes that you enjoyed. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our Cottage at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites was EVERYTHING we expected. Speaking with Laura we knew we had found some real northern hospitality and we were not disappointed! Clean, comfortable, friendly and tucked just far enough away from the town and the park to be quiet and serene, yet accessible. We come at least twice ayear to Acadia and have now found our home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that your experience with us was EVERYTHING you expected and that we have become your home away from home while visiting Acadia National Park. Thank you for your compliments of our welcoming and friendly Resident Manager, Laura, and our clean, comfortable and quiet cottages. We look forward to hosting you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a nice little place with cottages right in Bar Harbor. Everything was clean and in great condition. The staff is very friendly and helpful for anything you need. We were very p,eased with our stay there and would go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful and our cottages clean and close to everything. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very nice little house, clean, confortable and private. Well situated in a little street with no traffic and near the sea. We rent a home with 1 bedroom and we stay with our 2 children (3 and 5). Near everything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222Cand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you found our cottages clean, private and close to everything. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
5.0 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
380 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7245
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing