We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The cottages themselves are extremely clean, cute, and have character. We felt right at home! It was quiet and about a 20 minute drive from Bar Harbor. There were even apple trees right on the property!

The first cottage we stayed at (12) was roomy and had a nice place to sit outside. Then we moved to cottage 6 which was a bit smaller (more beds), but had a great little screened in porch to sit at. Both are a solid choice!

Laura was quite possibly the most pleasant and helpful person I've ever dealt with - every morning she had numerous suggestions on places to see, things to do, and where to eat. It was awesome, couldn't ask for better accommodations. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlyaMirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
It's so great to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us and enjoyed the clean and cute cottages as well as the outdoor space, porches and the apple tree! Thank you for your sincere compliments of our pleasant and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, who very much enjoyed helping you. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    50
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
68
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Tiny but adorable the cottage had everything we needed - even a screened in porch with a "peek" of water view. Very friendly & welcoming office staff made us feel at home. Quiet location, but a drive into town - no coastal access so you need to drive to the beach as well. Charming & comfortable - a sweet stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HappyVagabond2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that the staff made you feel at home during your visit and that you found the cottage charming and comfortable with everything you needed. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Laura was extremely helpful during our e-mail booking process. It was delightful to meet her when we checked in. The cottage was comfortable and well-appointed and exactly as described (just be prepared for a very small shower); the location was peaceful and lovely. We were late arriving, and our key and helpful information was waiting for us in the 24-hour-open office. The cottages are convenient to everything on Mt. Desert Island. We enjoyed our three-night stay and would definitely stay at Bar Harbor Cottages again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us from beginning to end and that you found our Resident Manager, Laura, delightful and helpful. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you found our location convenient and peaceful and that your cottage was exactly as described-- comfortable and well-appointed. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

From the moment I booked our stay with Laura, I knew we would be in good hands. They had everything ready for us when we got there, and she greeted us with excitement. We loved that they had the front office are open 24 hours in case anyone needed information about the area and that we were free to get our own towels, etc. in the barn. The suite was clean, neat, nicely decorated and cozy. We loved the private enclosed porch in the back that looked onto a beautiful garden. Closet space was limited, but we made due. It was quiet and private, which was another bonus. At the end of our trip, Laura celebrated our engagement with us and we knew her congratulations were heart felt. We look forward to another stay here next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Congratulations on your engagement and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Victorian Suite and found the cottage cozy, clean and nicely decorated. The suite's quiet and private back porch overlooking the garden is one of our favorites. Thank you for the compliments you paid our personable and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, who so enjoyed hosting you and your fiance. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here- the cottage we stayed in (#1) was just the right size and was a good value overall with it's proximity to Bar Harbor and other points of interest on the island. The owner and manager are very helpful and do go out of their way to make sure your stay Is enjoyable. The cottages are exactly as advertised. My wife and I spent 5 days mostly hiking all day and the cottage provided a nice retreat at the end of a long day out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage to be everything it was advertised: the right size, a good value and a nice retreat after a long of hiking in the park. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Thanks to prior TA reviews, my husband and I found a wonderful location for part of our delayed 25th anniversary trip... a set of cottages with lots of greenspace and a water view that was just 3 miles from the main entrance to Acadia NP, with Bar Harbor a couple of miles further. We stayed 3 nights in the quaint "Victorian" Cottage #9 and it was more than adequate for two. The single bedroom was very small (barely a foot between the wall and bed at both sides and bottom of the queen bed), so might be a problem for others if mobility issues. Wall lamps on both sides of the bed made it easy to enjoy late-night reading. The half refrigerator, 2-burner stove, and small sink suited our needs perfectly, and we even had a small screened porch with rockers on the back side as well as another open porch on the front. We enjoyed meeting the owner Kathy, and found the manager Laura to be an outstanding asset to the business -- a very personable young women who went out of her way to provide us with information (and also used her own freezer to refreeze our ice packs we needed on departure to keep medicine cold.) If you would like a friendly "at home" experience away from the busy-ness of Bar Harbor, this is the place :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmamFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. It is a great compliment that you chose to spend part of your 25th Wedding Anniversary with us. We are so pleased you felt at home in the Victorian Suite and found the accommodations more than adequate for two. Thank you for the compliments you paid our personable and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, who so enjoyed hosting you and your husband. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The cottage was maintained well, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The information file in the cottages was very useful and had a map and suggestions for first time visitors. We had a great and memorable time especially as this was our last stop of a week long tri-state roadtrip and rather than feeling exhausted we were energized. Highly recommend this place to others as we felt at home.

Room Tip: Recommend Cottage 10 - is set back among the cottages with trees in the background. the car park spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Great to hear that you had a rejuvenating and memorable experience with us. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with Trip Advisor. It is such a compliment when guests feel at home with us. We are so pleased that you found the cottages well-maintained, clean, and reasonably priced. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
1.7 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
3.5 mi away
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Property: Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7245
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing