We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pretty, away from the bustle of Bar Harbor”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Petach Tikva, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quiet, pretty, away from the bustle of Bar Harbor”
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Located 5 minutes from the entrance to Acadia National Park, about 10 minutes from the town of Bar Harbor. Off the main road, very quiet and peaceful. No ocean views. Cottages very pretty, well-decorated and very well maintained. The owner was very friendly and accomodating. We really loved this place (my father even went back for a second stay). The only drawback is that the cottages are a bit on the small side compared to other cottages we have stayed in in the past, but at least from the outside, seem to be standard size for this area. There's a free shuttle between Bar Harbor and the park but the shuttle doesn't get here. Call the owners for directions since the road is easy to miss on maps.

  • Liked — Quiet, very pretty
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alizapedsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachBarHarbor, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2007
Thanks for taking the time to recommend Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location in the peaceful Salisbury Cove section of Bar Harbor, which is just few minutes from Acadia National Park and the downtown area. Our community is fortunate to be serviced by the free Island Explorer shuttle bus. Our guests who wish to take advantage of this free service can leave their car on our property, walk to the top of the street (4 - 5 minutes), and flag down the bus which can transport them all over the island.

We thought it might be helpful to clarify a point. As you mentioned, we strive to make sure that we offer our guests friendly service, and well appointed and maintained cottages at a value. We have 12 individual free standing cottages (most w/screened porches & kitchenettes), ranging in size from studios to 1 & 2 bedroom cottages. Most guests find that their size is not only standard for the Bar Harbor area, but but since we are one of the few in the area to offer screened porches, the cottages actually have slightly more room due to the additional living area they provide. Although we are not located directly on the water, (we are across the lane), guests may request a cottage with a water or garden view.

Once again, thank you for your lovely recommendation, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    48
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
65
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2007

My wife, 2 children ( 5 and 7) and I have just returned home from a simply wonderful vacation, staying one week at this fine facility. In my job I travel a great deal staying at varying degrees of accomodations. Quite frankly, the cottage was absolutely super and the staff were as friendly as folks from where we come from (Newfoundland, Canada)!

For anyone considering visiting the Bar Harbor area, rest assured you will not be disappointed in staying in one of their very clean, well appointed cottages. The location is quite near the water and also brings you very close to Bar Harbor itself and the State Park, without being caught up in the traffic of these regions. The cottages are in a very quiet neighborhood where you can rest in the screened porch area, afetr dinner sipping coffee and just taking in the atmosphere. It was quite obvious to ourselves that the owners and staff are quite proud of their facility and daily upkeep is very obvious (e.g., watching a staff member weeding the flower gardens for 2 hours).

When (not if) we return to the Bar Harbor region I am comfortable in not having to check any other accommodations in the region.....we will be back!

Craig Morrissey and family
Newfoundland, Canada

  • Liked — Absolutely everything!
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NfldFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachBarHarbor, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2007
July 18, 2007

We appreciate the fact that after a trip, there are many things our guests must attend to, and we thank you for taking the time to write your recommendation of Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location in the peaceful Salisbury Cove section of Bar Harbor, and your stay with us.

As the owners, we strive to work as a team with our dedicated staff to give our guests a comfortable, relaxed, clean and well maintained facility to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to your return visit!

Best regards,
Kathy Combs, owner


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2007

My experience with Bar Harbor Cottages & Suites was delightful. I had read the negative review, but decided to stay there in spite of it, and I am very glad I did. I found the cottages to be exceptionally clean, well decorated and comfortable. The staff was friendly and cheerful, and very helpful.
I was greeted warmly, and treated in a manner that made me feel valued as a guest. I was not able to meet Kathy or Ted (the owners) however Patti the manager spoke of them highly, and attributed all the welcoming touches as Kathy's effort to make each cottage a home away from home for her guests. It worked! We were very comfortable and happy. When we visit Bar Harbor again, we will definitely stay here. By the way, I asked to see the Victorian Cottage that was reviewed, and my only comment would be that I will be looking to reserve that cottage on my next visit. It is positively lovely. Maybe they don't have things like that in Chicago.....Hats off to the staff and owners of this establishment.

  • Liked — Warm and comfortable
  • Disliked — No palm trees (joking)
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersTwoNy_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachBarHarbor, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2007
July 18, 2007

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing recommendation of Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal, as the owners, to work as a team with our dedicated staff to provide our guests with the service and little details you deserve to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,
Kathy Combs, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2007

We were looking for a romantic getaway. This property's web site made it look ideal. They advertised to be newly renovated and redecorated Victorian Cottage Suites.

I guess you can say that if you consider a fishing cabin with a new coat of paint to be a Victorian Cottage. The structure had about a 10% down hill grade going from one corner of the "suite" to the opposite corner. The separate bedroom with a queen size bed basically just fit the bed; you had to walk into the room sideways. The bed was positioned so that our feet were above our heads when we laid in it because of the slant of the structure!

What else? The advertised views of the water depended on where you stood on the property. We arrived in the evening and it was about 40 degrees out. We walked into our "suite" and they had every window open with a mere gas stove to heat the place.

It was such an awful 9 hour experience. Needless to say we departed at the crack of dawn to find other accommodations.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelOftenChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachBarHarbor, Kathy Combs, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2007
Ironically, one of our many satisfied repeat guests just called to inform us about this review. Thank you Trip Advisor for providing a place for management response.

This guest was angry with us before she arrived due to our cancellation policy. At the time of her phone reservation she was informed of our policy, which is also clearly stated on our web site and in the written confirmation letter which was mailed to her. Sometime later she called to cancel the first night of her stay. Since she was under the cancellation date time period she was informed we would do the best we could to rerent her cottage for her, but if we couldn't, she would be responsible for payment. She indicated she was quite annoyed, but decided that rather than risk losing her first night deposit, she would arrive very late after check in time. We made arrangements for her late arrival.

We are veterans of more than 20 years in the Bar Harbor lodging business, having owned and operated 2 successful B&B's prior to buying and renovating Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites 2 -1/2 years ago. Last year we hosted a "Business After Hours" reception for the local and regional Chambers of Commerce and the business community to view our establishment after our extensive renovations. Victorian Cottage Suite was one of our featured cottages viewed. The response was overwhelmingly positive and we are honored to receive many referrals from the Chambers as well as our business colleagues. Additionally, regarding the "false advertising" charge, our many satisfied guests inform us that our web site is not only accurate, but in many cases the accommodations exceed their expectations.

Finally, to speak directly to the misrepresentation of Victorian Cottage Suite: we have spent many thousands of $'s on this freestanding 1 BR cottage, literally from the ground up. It has a completely new bathroom with tiled floor. Some other improvements are utility upgrades, a new freestanding gas fireplace, all new LR, dining area, BR and porch furnishings, accessories, artwork, bedding, towels, linens, air conditioning and there are 2 sources of heat (electric and gas). This is our most requested cottage and has a high rate of satisfied return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
2.0 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Property: Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7245
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing