We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, crowded”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar Harbor Campground KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The weekend nights were so noisy. A large bike group was in the tent site next to ours and were so packed in, their tent was in our site. The ladies room was okay but the men's bathroom was gross. It is also a good 20 minutes to Bar Harbor. We will not use this campground again. There are better, closer choices in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytravel773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Made reservations for a July 2013 visit back in February. Spoke to Carolyn over the phone and she assisted us with reserving a deluxe cabin overlooking the water. When we arrived five months later, the cabin (805) was ours for two nights as promised. It had a queen bed and a bunk bed in a separate tiny room. We had our own bathroom with tub and shower, sink and toilet, a color TV, wifi, a screened porch, table and chairs and firepit. A nice staff person in a golf cart showed us to the cabin and made sure everything was to our liking.

This was a great place to stay while we explored Acadia. Our teen daughter loved the tie dye night ($5) and the pancake breakfast ($3 per person) with pancakes, blueberries, sausage, coffee and juice. The s'mores cookout got rained out, better luck next time. This place was pricey for a KOA, however it seemed brand new and was worth it to us. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Cabin 805 has a great view of the water through the trees. Sunsets are awesome too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

nice location close to Acadia. the parking spots were cramped and close to each other. For $80 plus a night we did not find value. the showers were cramped cold and dirty. book several nights left after the first.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l5adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife, 2-year old daughter and I stayed in a small cabin for two nights while exploring the area. Our check-in time wasn't until 3pm so we arrived slightly after 4 as Bob and Kathy were closing up shop. They informed me that the company asks them to close early so they don't work overtime. That's not easy for customers that arrive in the evening as they must register in the morning. Luckily we were there in time to get our key and other area information.

Our daughter enjoyed the small pool. Though, while small, there is a steep drop from 3ft to about 8 or 9ft and the bottom is very slippery. When it came time for dinner, we were going to buy firewood outside the store (which had closed right after we arrived) but it was $6.30 a bundle. I decided to drive down the street where I could buy a similar bundle for $3.00. Unfortunately, because it had rained the day before, our wood was not entirely dry so it made starting a fire more difficult.

The campground has special discounts for area attractions, use this. We saved $14.00 for the three of us to go whale watching. We reserved the trip with the company and then had KOA call over to them with a discount code to add to our reservation. It worked out well except that our trip saw no whales which means we have three years to reschedule.

If we had been there longer, we would have utilized the free bus service into town connecting to areas in Acadia National Park. Since we had limited time, we drove wherever we needed to go.

I found the bathrooms to be a bit gross. The toilets don't work very well and the building seems to smell. I opted to avoid the bathrooms at the campground as much as I could while also not showering for the two days we were there.

Our daughter got really sick on our second night which required us to do an unexpected load of laundry. However, because it was late and we didn't have any change, we could not do laundry as the laundry room had no change machine. I waited until morning to go to the store to get change.

Bob and Kathy are very understaffed at this particular KOA, but they do their best and are very personable. The campground was pretty clean for the most part and a nice place to stay. No rowdy people either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Wifi basically isn't of any use.
Only very few showers and toilets. Good that there were only few others at the site.
Be ware that the office closes already in the afternoon.
Nice small pool.
A good thing about the campground is that is on Mount Desert Island. I guess that's why there are two KOAs very close.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortenBjerregaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Third time (or is it fourth?) at KOA Oceanside and I figured its about time to jot down how wonderful it is. Tent only site right by the water was excellent - wander down, play in the tide pools, dig for mussels, take a swim, watch the seals in the water. Staff are more than helpful, from check-in to area orientation to looking after any needs through the week. The pancake breakfast on weekends is a must by the way. Of course the surrounding area is simply stunning - biking the carriage trails, hiking Gorham, spotting a bald eagle, swimming at Sand Beach...that's for another review I guess. Anyway, no hesitation whatsoever, we'll be back with the three kids before long.

Room Tip: The tent site on the water front are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The staff at the KOA Oceanside was amazing. They were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. I especially enjoyed having lobster steamed at the campsite and eating it in the RV. The sites in the water were excellent. Everything was great. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank NJOYNC2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
1.2 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
5.8 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
7.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
8.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Campground KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Campground KOA

Address: 136 County Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7703
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Sunsets are our specialty! Bar Harbor Oceanside KOA is the only campground on the west side of our island, so come watch the sky melt into sunset pastels from your waterfront site or our beach area ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Campground Koa Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Campground KOA Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing